Lemon Orzo Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Ok, but lacks some flavor. I will make this again but I would add some sort of spice; not sure what. I did add frozen peas to the mix also. Zesting the lemon was a near failure; maybe my grater is junk! Didn't get as much zest as I felt the recipe volume called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Wow...Awesome recipe. We are new vegetarians and have found a weekly entree! My picky 2 yr old liked it too! Added a bit of fresh spinach like another reviewer, 3 cloves of garlic instead of 1, and obviously added salt & pepper. I used vegetable boullion instead of canned--it's waaaay better. Try Rapunzel brand found at healthfood store-all organic/vegan ingredients. Did not make 4 servings..increase ingredients if you want larger portion sizes..Thanks LitleLisa1!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My daughter and husband just loved this and so easy to make. I may never buy a boxed orzo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great recipe. I have made this quite a few times now, and just chop the zucchini and carrot instead of shredding them, and they come out tender (not soggy) every time. I always use more than 1 of each to make it more healthful. Having a quality broth makes this dish taste much better. I use 1-2 tsp dried thyme in place of the fresh, and add black pepper as needed. Also, as an onion lover, I tried adding them to this dish and I did not like the result. Adding some fresh, chopped spinach was a nice addition though. Overall, very good, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This recipe is so good! I didn't have any zucchini and used chicken stock instead of veg. Great flavor and so quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was really good! I realized too late that my carrots were no longer good, so I used 2 zucchini, which still worked well! This recipe would also make a great base for other dishes! I added tuna to the leftovers today, which was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was SOOO good! I made just a few changes. I used chicken broth rather than vegie broth, and each time I have made it I have thrown what vegetables I have on hand. My husband loved it too. It is very light yet. Past few times I made it I haven't even added the thyme and parm. Infact I don't think I'll ever put thyme in it again. I also squeezed some of the lemon juice in as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Good! I cut down on the lemon zest and added some shrimp, but other than that followed it exactly and it came out great. This would be better as a side dish rather than a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Not bad.... veggie flavour wasn't really there. May try with strongerflavoured vegs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Perfect base for a main dish! I doubled the recipe, added a can of diced tomatoes (w/liquid), used chicken broth, lemon juice, and added cooked shrimp. Fantastic! Delicious healthy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States