Lemon Orzo Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This recipe, or my variation of it, has become a staple side dish in our household. We love the flavor of the lemon with the orzo and use this as a base recipe that we adjust to suit our tastes. I don't care for a strong thyme flavor, so I use a lesser amount and also use chicken broth most often because I have it on hand. The chicken broth gives it a great flavor. Our favorite additions to this recipe are mushrooms, onions, and fresh spinach. At the end of the cooking process, I stir in fresh spinach leaves into the hot pasta. I have made the orzo a few times with just the spinach, onions, and mushrooms and it is delicious. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
For maximum flavor, make sure the orzo is nice and toasty (takes a bit longer than the recommended 2 minutes) before adding any liquid. And unless you're a meatatarian and can use chicken stock, skip the flavorless void and use a quality veg broth (homemade is best). A nice subtle side dish when bored with rice and potatoes (again)... can be bulked-up with extra veggies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was actually amazing!!! Instead of shredding the vegetables, I chopped them into pieces. I just like seeing the pieces of veggies. I didn't have zucchini on hand so I substituted the zucchini with yellow squash. I also had green beans to use up so I added those in along with the carrots and squash. I would say normally you will need more liquid than just the one (14 oz.) can of broth. I cooked up 1 1/2 cups of pasta and I think I used about 2 cans of broth. I just judged how many cans to use based off the amount of liquid left in the pot and how done the pasta was. The end result though was spectacular. I pretty much followed the recipe again just substituting some veggies. I would make this again in a heartbeat and it's super easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made this a main dish by adding chicken to it. I also added 3T fresh chopped parsley, mushrooms, broccoli, and cooked the orzo in chicken broth instead of veggie broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe was fine, I just don't think I really care for orzo much. And I would have preferred the zucchini and carrots matchstick style as opposed to shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakeaholic
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was good, but maybe it was lacking something? I didn't have any zucchini, but I added some onion. It ran out of liquid before it was cooked, so I added lemon juice and then needed to add some water as well, so I added a little chicken paste for flavor. I also seasoned with salt and pepper, and used parsley instead of thyme because thats what I had. I might try it again with the zucchini. We will probably eat it again, but it wasn't necessarily a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Amazing! Flavorful, moist and delicious! A great summer recipe or all year round!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrebonne, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Loved this with our lemon grilled chicken! I used minced fresh lemon basil instead of the thyme. just personal preference. Enjoying the leftovers for lunch as it makes a ton. Thank you Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
If you have veggie haters in your family, you definitely need to shred the zucchini & carrot. Haven't tried it chopped, but prefer shredded anyway (I do like veggies though). Next time I'll try adding more veggies and maybe a 'light' tasting bean for a bit more protein for a complete vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
we thought this was very good. made it as a side dish with peppercorn pork tenderlion, steamed string beans, cucumbers w/sour cream & vidalia onions. had some cotes du rhone wine with this and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States