Lemon Orzo Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Ok, but lacks some flavor. I will make this again but I would add some sort of spice; not sure what. I did add frozen peas to the mix also. Zesting the lemon was a near failure; maybe my grater is junk! Didn't get as much zest as I felt the recipe volume called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Wow...Awesome recipe. We are new vegetarians and have found a weekly entree! My picky 2 yr old liked it too! Added a bit of fresh spinach like another reviewer, 3 cloves of garlic instead of 1, and obviously added salt & pepper. I used vegetable boullion instead of canned--it's waaaay better. Try Rapunzel brand found at healthfood store-all organic/vegan ingredients. Did not make 4 servings..increase ingredients if you want larger portion sizes..Thanks LitleLisa1!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My daughter and husband just loved this and so easy to make. I may never buy a boxed orzo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great recipe. I have made this quite a few times now, and just chop the zucchini and carrot instead of shredding them, and they come out tender (not soggy) every time. I always use more than 1 of each to make it more healthful. Having a quality broth makes this dish taste much better. I use 1-2 tsp dried thyme in place of the fresh, and add black pepper as needed. Also, as an onion lover, I tried adding them to this dish and I did not like the result. Adding some fresh, chopped spinach was a nice addition though. Overall, very good, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This recipe is so good! I didn't have any zucchini and used chicken stock instead of veg. Great flavor and so quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was really good! I realized too late that my carrots were no longer good, so I used 2 zucchini, which still worked well! This recipe would also make a great base for other dishes! I added tuna to the leftovers today, which was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was SOOO good! I made just a few changes. I used chicken broth rather than vegie broth, and each time I have made it I have thrown what vegetables I have on hand. My husband loved it too. It is very light yet. Past few times I made it I haven't even added the thyme and parm. Infact I don't think I'll ever put thyme in it again. I also squeezed some of the lemon juice in as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Good! I cut down on the lemon zest and added some shrimp, but other than that followed it exactly and it came out great. This would be better as a side dish rather than a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Sorry, but I thought it was bland and it smelled completely unappetizing. It tasted better than it smelled, but it's not worth making again. Also, I ended up using nearly twice as much vegetable broth because the orzo was nowhere near finished when it had absorbed the amount specified. You'd think more broth would have at least given it some flavor, but it was like eating plain pasta cooked in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrimisu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Not bad.... veggie flavour wasn't really there. May try with strongerflavoured vegs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States