Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This is a good basic muffin mix but it is too dry and definitely not lemony enough. I suggest adding 1 Tbs of fresh lemon juice to the batter and then glazing the muffins with a mixture of lemon juice and powdered sugar while they are hot. Poking the tops of the muffins with a fork first will allow the glaze to soak in better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
this recipe is tasty and easy a few suggestions though I grated all of the zest off of a whole lemon and added the juice from the lemon aswell I also added more milk I found the batter to thick, once I had the batter in the muffin trays sprinkled zest on the tops this made these muffins sweet and wonderfully lemony. My husband says they are to die for lol I have to say I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Great recipe. I added more lemon zest and 1 cup of frozen blueberries. Baked them only 15 minutes instead of 20. They came out moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Based on suggestions of the other reviewers, I modified this recipe a bit. I added the zest of 2 lemons to the batter as well as the juice of one of the lemons. I also substituted the oil for unsweetened applesauce and replaced the white sugar with an equal amount of Splenda. Lastly, I added about 1 cup of blueberries to the batter just before baking. The flavour of the muffins wasn't bad, and certainly not overly lemony...but the end result was a very chewy muffin that stuck to the paper liner. Not a bad start - but this recipe still requires more tweaking in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My first reaction to these muffins- Bisquick! They resemble Bisquick bicuits in taste and texture. The lemon flavor is very faint. I followed other reviewers advice and made a lemon glaze that I added as soon as they came out of the oven. The glaze helped immensely. I think next time I make these muffins I will add another Tbsp lemon zest and cut back on the baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I took the recommendations from the other reviews. I added another 1/4 cup of milk, 2 tbs of lemon juice, and also sprinkled lemon zest over the tops before putting them in the oven. I baked my muffins for 17 minutes, and they came out great. --I made this recipe a second time and this time I used the juice from a whole lemon, about 2 tbsp more sugar, and instead of sprinkling the top with lemon zest I sprinkled it with a thin layer of sugar before baking. The sugar on top gave it a more crisp and slightly sweet top and the extra lemon gave it a fuller lemon flavor. I thought the second batch was twice as good as the first and this is how I will make them from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yearofthespider

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I am 7 years old and my family and I really liked this recipe. We added 1 tsp vanilla extract, lemon juice and lemon zest from a lemon. I would recommend this to anyone who loves baking, but advise them to make the same changes, it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Great recipe!!! Do get them extra fluffy and soft, I sifted the flour twice and instead of vegetable oil I used 80gr melted butter. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This is a very easy recipe to follow and turns out nicely with a cake-like texture. The entire family likes them and I can't keep them in the pantry. If you like a little more lemon flavor, just put on a glaze of lemon juice and sugar and put in some more lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
This was a great recipe! We added 1/2-3/4 tbsp. more lemon zest to add an extra zip. We also a few drops of lemon juice to each after they were done and dusted with icing sugar. We made 21 mini muffins, rather than 12 large muffins. Great EASY recipe! Trust us, we're 13!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States