Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
NOT LEMONY ENOUGH FOR US BUT A GOOD BASIC MUFFIN..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
This was a great recipe! We added 1/2-3/4 tbsp. more lemon zest to add an extra zip. We also a few drops of lemon juice to each after they were done and dusted with icing sugar. We made 21 mini muffins, rather than 12 large muffins. Great EASY recipe! Trust us, we're 13!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This is a good basic muffin mix but it is too dry and definitely not lemony enough. I suggest adding 1 Tbs of fresh lemon juice to the batter and then glazing the muffins with a mixture of lemon juice and powdered sugar while they are hot. Poking the tops of the muffins with a fork first will allow the glaze to soak in better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Good basic recipe. Just need a lot more Lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I took the advice from others and added more lemon zest along with lemon juice. I even added sour cream to the batter hoping to make them more moist, however, I still felt that they were dry. If it wasn't for "BakinginErie, PA"'s advice to poke holes in the muffins and glaze, they would have been pretty tastless. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Great recipe. I added more lemon zest and 1 cup of frozen blueberries. Baked them only 15 minutes instead of 20. They came out moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This was really dry and as a result the finished muffins were hideously lumpy looking. They were also low on flavor. I won't make these again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My first reaction to these muffins- Bisquick! They resemble Bisquick bicuits in taste and texture. The lemon flavor is very faint. I followed other reviewers advice and made a lemon glaze that I added as soon as they came out of the oven. The glaze helped immensely. I think next time I make these muffins I will add another Tbsp lemon zest and cut back on the baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Based on suggestions of the other reviewers, I modified this recipe a bit. I added the zest of 2 lemons to the batter as well as the juice of one of the lemons. I also substituted the oil for unsweetened applesauce and replaced the white sugar with an equal amount of Splenda. Lastly, I added about 1 cup of blueberries to the batter just before baking. The flavour of the muffins wasn't bad, and certainly not overly lemony...but the end result was a very chewy muffin that stuck to the paper liner. Not a bad start - but this recipe still requires more tweaking in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
very dry. not much flavor even after adding some lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States