Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I added a bit of extra sugar, more milk and oil as I found the batter too dry. I used the zest of one whole lemon in the batter as well as all the juice from the lemon. Before baking I sprinkled some zest on top of each muffin. And I added a handful of frozen blueberries. They turned out moist and so delicious! I will definitely make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe was way too dry and floury. The batter by the original recipe looked way too thick, so I put one muffin into the oven and tried adding up to another 1/2 cup of milk to the rest of it to get to the consistency I'm usually familiar with. The added milk was a vast improvement on the final product, but it still tasted too floury. Recipe needs more fat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wobblywonder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I listened to the reviews, and so I doubled the lemon extract (i didn't have any zest, so exchanged it for extract), and so far the batter tastes delicious.... I'm just waiting for them to come out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Chase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
definitely too much baking powder :( Mine was like dry, baking powder flavoured, and not lemony enough. will probably add more lemon zest and lemon juice, and reduce the baking powder to maybe 1.5 tsp. I add 1/2 cup more milk in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Sun (???)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made a few changes and they were the best muffins I've ever had! Instead on vegetable oil substitute 1/3 cup melted butter PLUS 1/4 cup coconut oil Added a teaspoon of vanilla extracts as well. Zest end 2 full lemons and added juice from 3 lemons. They were so flavourful but not too tart. I also added a cup of fresh blueberries and then made a sugar crumble (butter and coconut sugar or brown sugar) for the top. Then finished it with a lemon glaze. They were phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
They came out moist and fluffy but very limited in the lemon flavor. I think adding a touch of lemon juice will enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I like these muffins and make them often. They are moist and a little pound cake-like - just what I was looking for. They also freeze well. I add some lemon extract and use the zest of a whole lemon when making them. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
After reading most of the reviews I made the following changes to address the texture and dryness issues. I scaled the flour back to 1 1/2 cup and added another egg. I also added 1/2 tsp lemon extract to bump the flavor and sprinkled the tops with turbando sugar before baking @ 375F for 23 minutes. By cutting the flour back the yield was 9 nice size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This one was better than most of the reviews read, I did add a little more lemon zest than usual, and I made a simple glaze using powdered sugar, lemon juice and lemon zest. They looked and tasted beautiful, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I took my time, carefully measured, followed the recipe (no adjustments at all) and it still didn't come out right. I didn't taste the lemon at all or anything actually. It is just hard to explain, I couldn't even eat it as a snack cake or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States