Lemon Mousse Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I didn’t make this as a pie, but as a mousse to be served with vanilla cookies. As other reviewers have said, it is not too sweet and has the perfect amount of tartness. The gelatin does give it a slightly different texture, but it is still creamy and delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Loved it! Used Nilla Wafer Crust. 3/4 c sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Everone LOVED this dessert. I made it with fresh lemons and it wasn't tart at all. I decorated with rings of blue berries, raspberries, black berries, and strawberries so it looked pretty. For the crust, I did graham cracker with toasted almonds and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is a little more tart than I think my family will like, but it is really delicious otherwise. I think I'll add a little more sugar next time. I used fresh lemon juice and Cool Whip for the whipped cream because that's what I had on hand. The crust was the oil pat-in-pan crust from the Betty Crocker red cookbook. Overall a very good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This pie was very easy. I enjoyed the fresh lemon flavor. I didn't give it 5 stars because it did not wow me. I did use the shortbread crust recipe on this site. it turned out good with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
The texture was a little weird but the flavor was good. Nice balance between sweet & tart...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My family LOVES this pie! It is tart, but we like that. The lemon flavor bowls you over, it is not too sweet, but it's not too intense, either. I agree with previous reviewers who say to use a shortbread crumb crust... it is awesome with this pie whereas graham cracker crust, I think, would just taste wrong. I don't see why people complain about the gelatin.... okay so the texture may not be authentically "mousse" like, but the gelatin holds the pie together and it's not like the texture is bad. I would rather have my pie hold together and be easy to slice, which is what the gelatin does for this pie. I am making this for Thanksgiving this year, as my 8 year old begged for it. Thanks for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My friends and family really enjoy this dessert. The only thing I changed was that I whipped up extra whipping cream and placed it on top of the pie. It made it look nicer, and it also covered up my pie crust! It was my first time making a crust. It was edible, but not very presentable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
The texture is definitely not mousse-like. The gelatin makes it very strange. Also not very sweet. I used fresh lemon juice and it's VERY tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Made this for a big family dinner and everyone loved it. Very refreshing and light. It's not really the consistency of mousse, with the gelatin, but it does hold together nicely and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States