Lemon Mousse Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DAIBREAK
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
ADDITIONAL NOTE: USE A SHORTBREAD CRUST. IT IS JUST AS QUICK AS GRAHAM CRACKER AND TASTES MUCH BETTER WITH THIS PARTICULAR PIE. KEEBLER MAKES A GOOD SHORTBREAD CRUST. This pie was fantastic. I have made it 5 times or so over the summer and receive compliments every time. It has just the right amount of sweetness and just the right amount of tartness. The first time I made it I used some extra filling to dip some strawberries in, which was very yummy. This gave me the idea to incorporate strawberries in some way. The next time I prepared it then I added 2 tablespoons of All Fruit strawberry preserves. Everyone raved about it and when I made it next I sliced strawberries and laid them on the bottom of the crust before I poured in the strawberry-lemon filling -- SOOO good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAIBREAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
AMAZING! So creamy and just enough sweetness not too much. I will be making this again and again. Would be wonderful with fresh fruit as suggested by some of the other reviewers. Divine! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My family LOVES this pie! It is tart, but we like that. The lemon flavor bowls you over, it is not too sweet, but it's not too intense, either. I agree with previous reviewers who say to use a shortbread crumb crust... it is awesome with this pie whereas graham cracker crust, I think, would just taste wrong. I don't see why people complain about the gelatin.... okay so the texture may not be authentically "mousse" like, but the gelatin holds the pie together and it's not like the texture is bad. I would rather have my pie hold together and be easy to slice, which is what the gelatin does for this pie. I am making this for Thanksgiving this year, as my 8 year old begged for it. Thanks for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Made this for a big family dinner and everyone loved it. Very refreshing and light. It's not really the consistency of mousse, with the gelatin, but it does hold together nicely and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Great pie--wonderful for summer. Very light and cool. I used a shortbread pie crust instead of regular and I think that gave it a better flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I made this tonight and got rave reviews from my family. I used a graham cracker crust so it was much quicker. I'm going to try this again and make some mini mousses for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estes Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Everone LOVED this dessert. I made it with fresh lemons and it wasn't tart at all. I decorated with rings of blue berries, raspberries, black berries, and strawberries so it looked pretty. For the crust, I did graham cracker with toasted almonds and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This pie was very easy. I enjoyed the fresh lemon flavor. I didn't give it 5 stars because it did not wow me. I did use the shortbread crust recipe on this site. it turned out good with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
The texture was a little weird but the flavor was good. Nice balance between sweet & tart...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States