Lemon Meringue Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Disappointing; tasted store bought. Disgustingly sweet. After half a slice I'm left with a taste in my mouth like I gargled syrup. I had to brush my teeth to get rid of the sticky sweet taste. I went through a lot of work hoping for a nice homemade pie but it was a flop. The lemon filling was overly sweet and had a sticky taste. Texturally it was fine but it was dense and heavy. I'd prefer a lighter, creamier filling. The meringue turned out okay. It had some defects but more as a result of my inexperience with meringue as a topping than the recipe, although more detailed instructions would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I love the idea of mixing the meringue with the lemon curd, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abileo
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had never made meringue before and though it wasn't perfect it was still delicious the first time. I've made it three times now and my last pie was perfect. Chill the meringue mixing bowl and make sure eggs are room temperature before mixing. I used 1/2 cup less sugar in the pie filling and it was still sweet and yummy. I also used a graham cracker pie crust instead of a traditional crust and put it in the freezer to set before adding pie filling. Have ingredients ready before starting cooking because there are a lot of steps. This recipe will most certainly be a friends and family favorite for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Looked great. Cut great on first day. second day separated with much liquid separating out from pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catie's Confections
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
It was delicious ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe exactly as it was written...it was the best I've ever made and I got rave reviews. I will be making it again for the Easter Holiday. My family is looking forward to it. You just have to let the meringue cool like instructed. Thank you Rhonda. This has now replaced my love for the strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Very good, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My grandson wanted to make a lemon meringue pie. Never making one before, it was a challenge for both of us. We tried two different recipes for a family gathering and this recipe won... hands down. Even my husband (who doesn't like L.M. pie, liked it!..love folding in the meringue to the lemon filling! Nice a creamy. Next time will add a bit more zest. Added 2 extra egg whites for meringue to make sure I had enough(Idid)...and to compensate for the smaller eggs in the "Real" world of todays egg sizes! Nice recipe!! Will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piano lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This pie was delicious following the recipe exactly as is. I think it is important to cook the sugar/cornstarch mixture till clear and the filling must be allowed to cool before adding meringue. If you do that I don't see any reason to change the ingrediants or their quantities. The filling was perfect-tart and sweet but not too much of either. My boyfriend loved it so much he had it for breakfast today. Thank you for posting this recipe! Next time I have to bring a dessert I am bringing this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I've never made a pie before. Did not alter it. Got rave reviews at a party. Even my wife liked it and she doesn't like the taste of lemons. Extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States