Lemon Meringue Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This was my 1st lemon meringue pie in 25yrs. The recipe was easy and my pie turned out beautiful. This pie is so good that I could eat the whole thing. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Excellent flavor; I also used slightly less sugar than the recipe states for a little more intense lemon flavor. I don't think I'd made a lemon meringue pie before and I was extremely pleased with the way this one turned out; I will definitely use this recipe again! Some notes to prevent shrinkage of the meringue and "weeping" (extra moisture under the meringue. (These tips are from a section on preparing meringue in one of my cookbooks.) Don't let the lemon filling cool too much; instead of putting it in the refrigerator til lukewarm, after preparing it make the meringue and spoon the designated amount of meringue into the hot/very warm lemon mixture. Spoon the filling into the baked pie crust, and cover with the remaining meringue while still very warm. Make sure to spread the meringue well, to the edges, touching the crusts. These steps should prevent the meringue from shrinking away from the crust and getting soggy underneath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
A beautiful pie, the lemon filling is much less stodgy than other recipes I have tried and is very fresh tasting. I will stick with this one and stop my search for the best pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
A;lthough this recipe is time consumming, the results were great. The pie was truely wonderful. I willuse this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
It Was the best pie! I am only 11 and I made it for my dads birthday. The WHOLE family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
great! really creamy, tastes like a light cheesecake.. my whole familiy loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
This pie was excellent. I just wish I could figure out a way to keep them longer without seperating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITAS2GIRLS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
This recipe is very tasty and the custard part held together much better than other recipes I have used. The portions were generous and I ended up with filling for 1.5 pies, so ended up making a small second pie for my guests to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
I have not made a lemon pie in years. My sister-in-law is the lemon pie maker but this beat any of hers and I was so proud to serve it! The Meringue turned out beautiful and did not shrink at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
My first meringue ever and it was perfect! I like the tart lemon taste so I cut the sugar down to 1 cup--perfect!! It was before bedtime but I couldn't resist, I had to get another piece! Look no further-this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States