Lemon Meringue Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I have been making Lemon Meringue pies for many years, trying different recipes, following the "directions" to top the pie with meringue when the filling was hot...and you know what? Topping the pie when it's hot is the WORST possible suggestion EVER!!!! It will always weep if you do this...ALWAYS. FINALLY I figured out a fool proof way to get the meringue NOT to weep: Allow the filling to cool at room temperature until completely cooled and firm. And NEVER put the pie in the fridge. Once it's cooled, make your meringue. Be sure to have the meringue cover the pie to the crust completely and then place it in the oven at 350 degrees (immediately) for 10-15 minutes or until the meringue is brown (careful, keep a close eye on it, because the meringue can go from "brown" to "black" very quickly--especially if you are someone who likes to have "peaks" in your meringue.) Now, once the pie comes out of the oven let it cool completely at ROOM TEMPERATURE...NEVER place a Lemon Meringue Pie in the fridge UNLESS you want it to weep and get all watery. I don't know where this urban legend about covering a hot filling with meringue started, but it's WRONG, WRONG, WRONG!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
802 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Excellent flavor; I also used slightly less sugar than the recipe states for a little more intense lemon flavor. I don't think I'd made a lemon meringue pie before and I was extremely pleased with the way this one turned out; I will definitely use this recipe again! Some notes to prevent shrinkage of the meringue and "weeping" (extra moisture under the meringue. (These tips are from a section on preparing meringue in one of my cookbooks.) Don't let the lemon filling cool too much; instead of putting it in the refrigerator til lukewarm, after preparing it make the meringue and spoon the designated amount of meringue into the hot/very warm lemon mixture. Spoon the filling into the baked pie crust, and cover with the remaining meringue while still very warm. Make sure to spread the meringue well, to the edges, touching the crusts. These steps should prevent the meringue from shrinking away from the crust and getting soggy underneath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This was delicious! As a previous reviewer stated about meringue, don't follow the directions to let the lemon custard cool before putting on the meringue. To achieve a perfect seal, you must add meringue while the filling is still warm. Use the "Meringue II" recipe from this site -- it's a perfect meringue recipe. Everyone who ate this wanted a second piece. The consistency was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This pie was amazing! I actually have a ponderosa lemon tree (it gets lemons the size of grapefruits) and my first lemon was ripe. I wanted to make something using it and found this recipe. Everything turned out perfectly, I did add a small bit more of the cornstarch as suggested in other reviews, and if I would change anything, I would put a cup of sugar, instead of a cup and a half, in the filling mixture. It came out a bit sweet. But I would definitely recommend this recipe otherwise as it is....it turned out great, and I WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Look no further for an awesome Lemon Merangue Pie. I read the reviews before I made this, but decided not to alter the original recipe at all and it turned out wonderful! My husband liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This waS VERY GOOD, HOWEVER I EXPERIENCED SOME OF THE SAME PROBLEMS AS FAR AS THE RUNNYNESS(IS THAT A WORD?) ANYWAY, DESPITE THAT IT WAS REALLY GOOD. tHE SECOND TIME I MADE IT I LET THE FILLING COOL COMPLETELY HOPING THIS WOULD CREATE LESS "JUICE" IF YOU WILL AND IT DID BUT IT WASNT AS FIRM AS I WOULD HAVE LIKED, I THINK I'LL ADD A LITTLE MORE CORNSTARCH NEXT TIME. oVERALL THE TASTE WAS EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Everyone at my work said this was a wonderful restaurant tasting pie. The only problem I had was were it says mix cornstarch and 1/3 cup water to make a smooth paste. There was no such thing as a smooth paste with 1/2 cup cornstarch and 1/3 cup water, it was concrete so I just added some of the boiling sugar/water mixture to try and make it a smooth paste. I did add a little yellow food coloring for the color. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
I made this over the weekend for my daughters' best friends birthday, as it's her favorite. I took MARIAHAN'S advice and did not cool the sugar mixture before adding the rest of the ingredients. I had no separation problems and the texture was perfect. Not rubbery or chalky. I did need to add two extra egg whites as there didn't seem to be enough meringue for the top of the pie. I like my meringue pies high and "peaky". I also cut back on the sugar a bit and added more lemon juice. My only slight problem was when I cut into it. There was a small amount of liquid on the pie plate, just under the crust. I don't know if this is a typical or if it was because the pie had to travel 45 minutes to it's final destination. It was still somewhat warm when we left the house. Other than that, everyone absolutely loved it. Thanks Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This was my 1st lemon meringue pie in 25yrs. The recipe was easy and my pie turned out beautiful. This pie is so good that I could eat the whole thing. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made this pie with my twelve year old niece... recipe was pretty easy to follow even though I was completely intimidated. All of the lemon meringue connoisseurs were LOVING this pie. A little too tart for my niece, but we're pretty sure her taste was spoiled by "fake" lemon meringue pie. We decided to try this again without the zest and see if she would like it more. I have never liked the lemon part of Lemon Meringue, but tried this and was amazed at how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justacrackedpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States