Lemon Meringue Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Just made two for our chruch bake sale. Custard tasted great before adding the meringue and even better with it. Sweet and tart tasting. I must have purchased shallow pie crusts, because I had over 1 1/2 cups of the custard left over. Using a box of premaded tartlet shells, I made a dozen more mini lemon merinque pie tartlets. Made the Lemnon Merinque Pie II on this web-site last week for a birthday pie gift. Very unhappy with that recipe and it's results. Lemon Merinque III is the perfect recipe for a lemon reminque pie in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Have to admit I didn't add quite as much meringue to the lemon filling as instructed, and it came out wonderfully. Flavor, texture, everything perfect. Would make this again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I made this for one of our Easter dinner deserts. I have never made a lemon pie from scratch so was a bit nervous. I read through the reviews and decided to make some changes in the receipe. Firstly, I did add more cornstarch then called for, from 1/2 cup to 1 cup and played with the water a bit. I left the sugar the same but did not add the lemon zest. I also used about 6 or 7 egg whites for the merangue AND used a bit of cream of tartar when mixing the merangue. OMG this pie turned out delicious!! Creamy, lemony and a wonderful merangue on top!! I did not end up putting the lemon mix in the fridge to cool, just forgot, but it was fine. I made another tried and true pie I always make just in case this was a flop but this lemon pie was devoured!! Will absolutely make again, with the changes, of course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
First time trying to make a meringue, but it turned out well! I followed the advice of not putting the pie in the fridge at all, but found it was a little watery. I don't know what exactly went wrong, but it was still a big hit with the family. I'll probably try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Just made this pie first homemade scratch pie ever. Used Splenda instead of sugar and only one cup , pie turned out amazing. Very high meringue with a creamy filling. Move over Martha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
The taste is great. The filling is a bit gloppy but nothing major. overall a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Followed recipe, filling was thick until folded in the meringue. Now have a beautiful pie, browned perfect peaks with totally soupy filling. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I knew it was a hit when Mom said "This is better then what my Mom use to make" I did use a different Meringue recipe but pie recipe it self is delicious beyond words! Never made a Lemon Meringue pie before and I found this recipe easy to follow and understand with end results being absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I use it every year. Just don't make it in a hurry and rush the cooling down of the pie and certainly don't cool it in the fridge. It will get soggy if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My Dad told me the only thing he wanted for a Christmas treat was a lemon meringue pie made completely from scratch like my grandmother made when he was a child, so I found this recipe. I read the reviews on it, and as most people did, I only used a cup of sugar as opposed to the cup and a half it calls for. I put the meringue on while the custard was still hot and let it set on my counter to slowly cool. I experienced NO weeping, and when I cut into the pie, once it was completely cooled to room temperature, it wasn't watery at all. This was absolutely amazing. I put a bit of the lemon zest in the meringue as well as my Grandmother used to make hers like that, and my Dad said it was pretty darn close, but Grandmother's was a tad bit sweeter, so next time I will do 1 1/4 cup of sugar. Over all, this recipe was amazing and I am SO thankful I could put a smile on my Dad's face and know that one bite took him back to memories of his childhood. Thank you to the Author!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States