Lemon Meringue Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
One cup of sugar is perfect! I leave the zest out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Had problems form the beginning. Cornstarch and water didn't make a paste. It was very watery, so I added more cornstarch. The overall flavor of the mixture in the double boiler was sweet, watery and not very lemony. Added another egg and about 1/4 cup of lemon juice. Ended up having way too much "custard" and it didn't thicken well in the double boiler. Cooked the pie first without the merinque topping. Once it cooked for about 12-14 mins I added the merinque topping. Once finshed it was custardy and the lemony flavored meringue was good, but very sweet. Needed to make two pies this morning for a back sale tommorrow and chose the Lemon Merinque Pie III Recipe. Much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Hello?? It's not right! This is way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naomi Gtz
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This pie was delicious. It was very sweet. I added just a little bit of lime to make it a little more tart. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Being a chef I saw that the sugar was too much. I make it with only 1 cup of sugar and baked meringue at 375 for only 6 min. great pie. I also make it with 1 1/2 cups sugar but added one more egg and a 1/4 cup more lemon juice. Great pie and the meringue is higher.325 is too low for a meringue to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
ive never made a pie before but i had a taste for lemon meringue and following this recipe i made a pie my mom wont even believe i made. its umbelievable (but i had to tweek the merengue part but the filling is better than i could have imagined)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Way too much sugar and not enough lemon and zest. Sorry, cause I really wanted to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
The baking time is off, 25 to 30 mintues is way too much. check around 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinyTurtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
The lemon filling should be tart, not sweet, this pie was a waste of money and time, a big dissappointment, it was just nothing but a big sugar pie... yuk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
A little bit aof work but well worth the effort. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States