Lemon Meringue Icebox Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a great pie. It's easy, delicious, and uses items that most cooks keep on hand. I doubled the filling and used it for 1 9-inch pie and 4 mini pies. I overbeat the meringue, but that was my fault. So it wasn't all fluffy and nice like a meringue should be, but it still tasted good. The filling was cool, creamy, tart and sweet. I used Graham Cracker Crust II for this. I like how you get the taste of a lemon meringue pie without the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
my husband loves lemon pies and this one is the easiest to make and he loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Almost Momma's recipe. Except she used 3 eggs (yolk and white) and 1 Tbsp of sugar per egg white for meringue. She also added in lemon zest with the lemon juice. Be sure to completely seal pie with meringue, leaving no holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Quick, easy, and delicious. I only use 2 egg whites for the meringue and add 1/4 cup sugar to it. I also use a little less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Very simple, good alternative to the 'traditional' lemon filling- they were fighting over second helpings! (added an extra egg white into meringue)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I have used this recipe for years & it is great. When I make it, my husband tells me to make 2. One for the family & one for him. I usually double the meringue tho, I like it thicker. It's a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is the recipe my Great-grandmother used and the only one my family likes. It is sweet, smooth and creamy with a delicious lemon flavor. The recipe is so easy and turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have used this recipe for years, and everyone in my family loves it. The only thing I do differently is to use 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
So simple and delicious! The perfect pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is by far the best recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie. I have also used this filling to fill the mini-fillo tart shells that you can by in the frozen food section. Just bake in the oven after they are filled for about 15 minutes...chill......then add a dollop of redi-whip right before they are served. Rave reviews every time....everyone thinks you've really slaved at making these tasty pretty tarts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vince'sgirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States