Lemon Meringue Icebox Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
The recipe makes a terrific, easy lemon meringue, which was a big hit. The directions on the meringue should include the addition of vanilla in the final beating process (inadvertently omitted in the directions), and I recommend increasing the amount of meringue on the pie, since the amount in the recipe does not make a very high meringue top. I used low-fat sweetened condensed milk, and it turned out fine, with no impact on the consistency of the pie. It has great flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Easy recipe that becomes great with some changes. -additional egg for the meringue -1/2cup of sugar to the meringue -fresh lemon juice, a full 3/4 cup. -1/4 cup of sugar to the lemon juice. A regular pie crust works great with this recipe, and be sure to cook the pie until set, and then add the meringue! It took abou 15 minutes to brown the merginue, be sure to watch it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is the recipe my Great-grandmother used and the only one my family likes. It is sweet, smooth and creamy with a delicious lemon flavor. The recipe is so easy and turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I must admit that part of the reason that this came out so badly was because I had never attempted a lemon meringue pie before & did not really know what to expect in preperation. Still, these directions were terrible & the only way to make this pie taste better would be to set it on fire & go buy a good one instead. I shudder every time I remember the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Quick, easy, and delicious. I only use 2 egg whites for the meringue and add 1/4 cup sugar to it. I also use a little less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Almost Momma's recipe. Except she used 3 eggs (yolk and white) and 1 Tbsp of sugar per egg white for meringue. She also added in lemon zest with the lemon juice. Be sure to completely seal pie with meringue, leaving no holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Followed according to recipe. Thought it was good but would be great (for me) if it were a tad bit more tart. Also could use more merinque on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Very simple, good alternative to the 'traditional' lemon filling- they were fighting over second helpings! (added an extra egg white into meringue)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We really liked this pie. It was easy to make, which is required for my baking. We followed a couple of the suggestions. 1) Bake in stages (crust for 10 min (we used regular crust, not graham), filling for 10 min, meringue for 10 min). 2) We used 4 egg whites for meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Simple to prepare and pretty to look at. Increased the amount of lemon juice and sugar. Very refreshing. Topped with a slice of lemon for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States