Lemon Meringue Icebox Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Very simple, good alternative to the 'traditional' lemon filling- they were fighting over second helpings! (added an extra egg white into meringue)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Quick, easy, and delicious. I only use 2 egg whites for the meringue and add 1/4 cup sugar to it. I also use a little less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Almost Momma's recipe. Except she used 3 eggs (yolk and white) and 1 Tbsp of sugar per egg white for meringue. She also added in lemon zest with the lemon juice. Be sure to completely seal pie with meringue, leaving no holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Simple to prepare and pretty to look at. Increased the amount of lemon juice and sugar. Very refreshing. Topped with a slice of lemon for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
My husband didn't care for it, he said the meringue was eggy. Go figure. I got compliments from everyone else that tried it. One weird thing though, the recipe calls for vanilla but no where in the directions does it tell you to use the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Easy recipe that becomes great with some changes. -additional egg for the meringue -1/2cup of sugar to the meringue -fresh lemon juice, a full 3/4 cup. -1/4 cup of sugar to the lemon juice. A regular pie crust works great with this recipe, and be sure to cook the pie until set, and then add the meringue! It took abou 15 minutes to brown the merginue, be sure to watch it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
my husband loves lemon pies and this one is the easiest to make and he loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
If you like lemon meringue pie, then you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLHODGES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Markham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
The recipe makes a terrific, easy lemon meringue, which was a big hit. The directions on the meringue should include the addition of vanilla in the final beating process (inadvertently omitted in the directions), and I recommend increasing the amount of meringue on the pie, since the amount in the recipe does not make a very high meringue top. I used low-fat sweetened condensed milk, and it turned out fine, with no impact on the consistency of the pie. It has great flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States