Lemon Meringue Icebox Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is by far the best recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie. I have also used this filling to fill the mini-fillo tart shells that you can by in the frozen food section. Just bake in the oven after they are filled for about 15 minutes...chill......then add a dollop of redi-whip right before they are served. Rave reviews every time....everyone thinks you've really slaved at making these tasty pretty tarts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vince'sgirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Nice lemony flavor and very easy pie to make. But it was very, very sweet, for us. Also, if I make again, I will go along with the advice of some of the reviews and use another egg or two for a thicker/higher meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
So simple and delicious! The perfect pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Followed according to recipe. Thought it was good but would be great (for me) if it were a tad bit more tart. Also could use more merinque on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have used this recipe for years, and everyone in my family loves it. The only thing I do differently is to use 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a great pie. It's easy, delicious, and uses items that most cooks keep on hand. I doubled the filling and used it for 1 9-inch pie and 4 mini pies. I overbeat the meringue, but that was my fault. So it wasn't all fluffy and nice like a meringue should be, but it still tasted good. The filling was cool, creamy, tart and sweet. I used Graham Cracker Crust II for this. I like how you get the taste of a lemon meringue pie without the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is the recipe my Great-grandmother used and the only one my family likes. It is sweet, smooth and creamy with a delicious lemon flavor. The recipe is so easy and turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I have used this recipe for years & it is great. When I make it, my husband tells me to make 2. One for the family & one for him. I usually double the meringue tho, I like it thicker. It's a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Followed the direction to a tee, this simply did not turn out correctly. Maybe someone will have better luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
the lemon pie turned out all eggy and not evenly tasteful. it has an eggy texture and an eggy flavor at some parts. it was too sweet. but i liek the idea of condnesed milk though. the meringue wasnt meringuey at all. it looked and tasted liek burnt eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States