Lemon Meringue Icebox Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is by far the best recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie. I have also used this filling to fill the mini-fillo tart shells that you can by in the frozen food section. Just bake in the oven after they are filled for about 15 minutes...chill......then add a dollop of redi-whip right before they are served. Rave reviews every time....everyone thinks you've really slaved at making these tasty pretty tarts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vince'sgirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Nice lemony flavor and very easy pie to make. But it was very, very sweet, for us. Also, if I make again, I will go along with the advice of some of the reviews and use another egg or two for a thicker/higher meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
So simple and delicious! The perfect pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Followed according to recipe. Thought it was good but would be great (for me) if it were a tad bit more tart. Also could use more merinque on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have used this recipe for years, and everyone in my family loves it. The only thing I do differently is to use 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a great pie. It's easy, delicious, and uses items that most cooks keep on hand. I doubled the filling and used it for 1 9-inch pie and 4 mini pies. I overbeat the meringue, but that was my fault. So it wasn't all fluffy and nice like a meringue should be, but it still tasted good. The filling was cool, creamy, tart and sweet. I used Graham Cracker Crust II for this. I like how you get the taste of a lemon meringue pie without the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is the recipe my Great-grandmother used and the only one my family likes. It is sweet, smooth and creamy with a delicious lemon flavor. The recipe is so easy and turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I have used this recipe for years & it is great. When I make it, my husband tells me to make 2. One for the family & one for him. I usually double the meringue tho, I like it thicker. It's a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Followed the direction to a tee, this simply did not turn out correctly. Maybe someone will have better luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
the lemon pie turned out all eggy and not evenly tasteful. it has an eggy texture and an eggy flavor at some parts. it was too sweet. but i liek the idea of condnesed milk though. the meringue wasnt meringuey at all. it looked and tasted liek burnt eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States