Lemon Meringue Icebox Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is the recipe that has to be what my grandmother used. Tastes exactly the same. I like it a little bit more tart so I use more lemon juice. Great recipe. Thanks sooo much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Easy & delicious! I made this pie for my 8 year old son who LOVES lemon meringue pie. The only alteration I made was to add a little more sugar to the meringue. It seemed to help stiffen it up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Tastes great, but WHY didn't the recipe say to BAKE THE FILLING FIRST? Ended up with a tasty, runny pie, guess I learned I am an amateur at meringue pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was a easy, fun, and non-messy thing to make for mothers day. i have not trieds it yet but it is in the oven right now and it looks delicious! I cant wait to eat it! hope my grandmother and my mom like it! Good Job Christine! keep up with the good recipies! -Jaime a.k.a KidsInTheKitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I'm not sure what I did wrong - I followed the recipe to the letter but the lemon layer never "set." It was completely runny. Other recipes call for cornstarch or flour, but since this one didn't, I thought it would be fine. My meringue was perfect & overall, the taste was spot-on, but I'm terribly disappointed in the overall result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristenFreeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This pie is great. Thanks Christine. Just a reminder, to help get a great meringue make sure there are no traces of oil or grease on your mixing bowl or beaters and no egg yolk in your whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We really liked this pie. It was easy to make, which is required for my baking. We followed a couple of the suggestions. 1) Bake in stages (crust for 10 min (we used regular crust, not graham), filling for 10 min, meringue for 10 min). 2) We used 4 egg whites for meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was excellent!!! I too doubled the amound of meringue, and put this in a 9-inch pie crust instead of graham cracker (my Dad's preference, since I made it for Father's Day). Everyone loved it and couldn't believe how easy it was to make! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is by far the best recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie. I have also used this filling to fill the mini-fillo tart shells that you can by in the frozen food section. Just bake in the oven after they are filled for about 15 minutes...chill......then add a dollop of redi-whip right before they are served. Rave reviews every time....everyone thinks you've really slaved at making these tasty pretty tarts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vince'sgirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Nice lemony flavor and very easy pie to make. But it was very, very sweet, for us. Also, if I make again, I will go along with the advice of some of the reviews and use another egg or two for a thicker/higher meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States