Lemon Meringue Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marilyn
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I love this cake, but I made mine a little different. I made regular cake mix and made the filling from scratch. But all in all, this is one of my family's favorite. P.S. I hope you don't mind me adding a picture of my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is so delicious! Didn't change a thing, perfect as is. Separate your eggs when they are cold and let the egg whites sit at room temperature for 30 minutes. They will have more fluff to them when you whip them. Add sugar only at the end in small amounts at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
So good!! Everyone loved this cake. I will absolutely make it again!!! My only recommendation is to use more egg whites for the meringue. It calls for 2 eggs and I used 3, and I was still short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Everyone loved this cake for me wife's 33 birthday party. The cake was not too sweet. I had to cook it a little bit longer (20 mins) so that the tops would brown. Everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
My family depends on me for dessert. And they depend on me to make it interesting and unusual. I made this cake for the family and and I was a rock star. They absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Attalla, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this for my best friends birthday. She is a lemon freak. It turned out amazing. Im not good at making meringue so that took me two times to get it right to spread on cake. This cake is so good and you will be the hit of any party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I am surprised that nobody has mentioned any problems with layering the cake yet. I followed the instructions exactly, and my pie filling kept coming out of the sides. Additionally, the layers were sliding around. So what I did was stake the layers with some chop sticks and stuck it in the fridge for a while, so the pie filling could harden up. After a while the pie filling stopped being pushed out and that is when I put the meringue on. Took the chop sticks out and stuck it in the oven immediately. I was hoping the meringue would seal the pie filling but it didn't. As soon as it got heated up, it was leaking to the bottom of the cake, making the cake look like a mess. Will never make this recipe again. The only change I made to the recipe was the meringue. I used a recipe that I use for my pie recipe that uses cornstarch, egg whites, sugar, salt, and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
LOVED this! Super easy, was a hit for Mother's day...Not too lemony or sweet....perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I just used the meringue part of the recipe and it was spectacular. What a beautiful presentaion for a cake! I also used a blow tourch instead of the oven, easier to control browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I found this to be challenging and it definitely took a while for the tips of the meringue to brown. I would probably not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelgrad01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States