Lemon Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
These are yummy little cookies, but are a bit bland. The frosting saves them, but next time I will add some lemon extract to the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe is definitely a keeper! I made these cute cookies for my daughter's Wedding Reception and everyone ooohed and awed over them. Yum! And they looked so elegant too on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
These were TERRIBLE!!!!!!! They break into a miilion pieces when taken off the cookie sheet--and I was very careful with them!! Then, they tasted TERRIBLE!!--like lemon juice mixed with cornstarch--YUCK!! I understand they are to be like a shortbread-type-texture, but I've NEVER had cookies or shortbread break into a million pieces like that before!!!!! AWFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
These are the very best lemon cookies I have ever made and tasted. Everyone loved them. They are being requested for the holidays! Thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I have made these three times now. The first time I followed the recipe and thought "I'll never make these again!" They were awful! The icing tasted like pure butter. I made then a 2nd time, though, doubling the recipe so I could make larger cookies. I used a simple powdered sugar, milk and lemon extract icing, that I painted on the cookies. Much better. Today I made them again but I rolled the dough "logs" in sugar before refrigerating and used no other icing. They turned out very good and were easier since there was no icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I did not like this recipe. My kids would not even eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
I made these for a family get together. Everyone raved about them. They are very fragile when they first come out of the oven though, so handle them carefully. Overall a quick, easy simple tasting cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
Absolutely delicious cookie, melts in your mouth. A great find in the middle of all these recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
I really like these cookies. I had lost the recipe and was delighted that it was on your web site. I now own several copies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2000
If I made these again, I would double or triple the cookie size (make log 2 or 3" rather than 1"). Also, I would increase lemon juice and sugar in icing and decrease butter (icing tastes too much like butter as is). Last, they taste best at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States