Lemon Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I really didn't care for them, they were just "OK". However, I didn't make the frosting because I made them to eat with a lemon curd, so it is possible that they would be much better if I had frosted them. As it was they were flavorless on their own but "too much" with the curd. lol - prolly more my fault than the recipe though - so I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Ooooohhhhhh! The name says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These were horrible. They were bitter, the dough was dry and the frosting was dry too, I had to add a little water just to keep the frosting from crumbling. Then I ended up throwing them all out anyway because they were so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Disappointing. The cookie has no flavor and the corn starch gives it an after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These cookies are truly wonderful. As long as you are at least an amateur baker, these are so simple. I would recommend adding a bit more lemon zest to the cookies to increase that lemony flavor. I like to bring these mini cookies to a get-together alongside a more traditional dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galien, Michigan, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
My husband loved them! They were great right out of the oven or right out of the fridge. And, just like the name, they melt in your mouth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Easy, and a good cookie for christmas. Espcially since it is different than all of the chocolate ones I ususaly make. I tend to up the amount of lemon zest though, and I've done it with Lime. I like the Lime better :] Oh- and I add a bit of Orange Juice to the frosting when I make these in a lemon version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
The taste of the cornstarch is so overbearing I don't know how anyone could really eat these cookies. They should be called cornstarch meltaways....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
These are even more wonderful when you substitute orange juice and zest for the lemon. They have become one of the most popular on my holiday cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
These cookies really do melt in your mouth. Easy recipe, a great reward for little effort. Frosting is what puts it over the top. Beware, you could easily eat too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States