Lemon Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Overall these were a nice cookie. I used lime juice and rind instead of lemon as that is what I had. I do agree with other reviewers that the cookie is a little bland on it's own until they are frosted. I also agree that you can definitely tell that there is cornstarch in there and I'm not sure I like it that you can taste it. However, my husband really liked these and he has a citrus phobia! I did take note of other's comments about the frosting and just used a simple glaze made with powdered sugar and lime juice and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
These are yummy little cookies, but are a bit bland. The frosting saves them, but next time I will add some lemon extract to the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe is definitely a keeper! I made these cute cookies for my daughter's Wedding Reception and everyone ooohed and awed over them. Yum! And they looked so elegant too on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
These were TERRIBLE!!!!!!! They break into a miilion pieces when taken off the cookie sheet--and I was very careful with them!! Then, they tasted TERRIBLE!!--like lemon juice mixed with cornstarch--YUCK!! I understand they are to be like a shortbread-type-texture, but I've NEVER had cookies or shortbread break into a million pieces like that before!!!!! AWFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
These are the very best lemon cookies I have ever made and tasted. Everyone loved them. They are being requested for the holidays! Thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I have made these three times now. The first time I followed the recipe and thought "I'll never make these again!" They were awful! The icing tasted like pure butter. I made then a 2nd time, though, doubling the recipe so I could make larger cookies. I used a simple powdered sugar, milk and lemon extract icing, that I painted on the cookies. Much better. Today I made them again but I rolled the dough "logs" in sugar before refrigerating and used no other icing. They turned out very good and were easier since there was no icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I did not like this recipe. My kids would not even eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
I made these for a family get together. Everyone raved about them. They are very fragile when they first come out of the oven though, so handle them carefully. Overall a quick, easy simple tasting cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
Absolutely delicious cookie, melts in your mouth. A great find in the middle of all these recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
I really like these cookies. I had lost the recipe and was delighted that it was on your web site. I now own several copies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States