Lemon Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I read all the reviews about how hard they were to make because of the crumbling. So when I made mine, I was very careful when rollign the dough to ensure no cracks or air pockets. chilled slightly, then rolled again (used the plastic wrap when rolling both times). I was also very careful when baking. I used the air-insulated cookie sheet and baked 10 minutes. Waited a minute or two before using a thin metal spatula to carefully transfer to the cooling rack. No problems at all with breakage. I added a little extra sugar to the dough. I did use a tad extra lemon zest and fresh lemon is a must for the juice and zest. I also sprinkled some zest onto the top of the frosted cookies. Taste was amazing. A 1.5" roll makes a good sized cookie (1-2 bites). One batch made 40 cookies and when I took them to a meeting, people couldn't keep away--6 of us polished them all off by noon. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *sara*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These are excellent cookies! Tender, melt in your mouth citrusy bursts of flavor that dance on your tongue... and an EASY recipe. We favor lime over lemon, so I made with lime instead. I adjusted the recipe for 65 via the calculator and the only other change I made was to add 4 drops of lime oil to the dough, and to add 2 drops lime oil and 1/4 tsp coconut extract to the frosting. Per PP, I added ALL the zest from 1 lime to the dough. I see a lot of folks had trouble with cookies crumbling. Be sure you sift your flour before measuring as that alone can make a big difference in the outcome. I also bake all my cookies on parchment paper, which I then transfer, paper and all, to the cooling rack after allowing them to cool on the cookie sheet for 10 minutes. While the recipe was adjusted for 65 cookies, it actually made 25. But that is fine for me, if I made more then I would eat all of those too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These are very tasaty and simple enough to make. The dough does get very firm when refrigerated. As a result, I ended up cutting the cookies a little thicker than suggested to keep them from crumbling. DH and I enjoyed these very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I love cookies but this recipe was really not so good. Not very sweet, even though I added quite a bit of confectioner's sugar to the frosting. I had to throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are really delicious! No problem with crumbling if you let them sit on the baking sheet for a few minutes before moving them to a cooling rack - also, don't overcook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
they kept falling apart and crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are my all-time favorite cookie and I've probably made 30+ batches of them over the years, always to rave reviews and requests for the recipe (which I forgot today so I'm on the site printing a copy). I do make a few minor recipe modifications. Ingredients: use FRESH lemon juice and up the amount of lemon zest in the dough. This provides extra lemon flavor. The icing also requires 1 Tablespoon of FRESH lemon juice (and more zest) and some additional confectioners’ sugar to obtain the right consistency / taste. How much additional will vary based on the humidity in the air, but start with 2 additional tablespoons and go from there. (I made these yesterday while it was pouring rain and it required 4+ additional tablespoons) Technique: For the dough, beat the butter very well by itself before adding the additional ingredients. The cookies are extremely delicate when hot but firm up nicely as they cool. I leave them on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before moving to the cooling rack and have no problems with crumbling. It should be noted that these cookies will not brown as most cookies do - if you wait for browning, the cookies will be overcooked / burnt. For easier transporting, frost cookies and leave on the cooling rack overnight. The icing firms up and you can pack them with wax paper between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
They fell apart when I removed them from the cookie sheet and tasted bland. I was able to salvage less than 1/2 of the cookies. I frosted them & they tasted a tad better. However, I will not make again. (I am not a novice baker, I'm a senior citizen and have been baking for over 55 years.) Even my husband, who eats anything, did not care for them. I will put a few out on my Christmas trays anyway. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
They are extremely crumbly and have very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States