Lemon Madeleines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I only had a silicone bunny-shaped mold but they still made amazingly lemony sponge-cake like cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
These were very tasty. Like a lemon sponge cake. I did some using the madeleine pan and the rest in a cake pan since I was short on time. The madeleines were fluffy and light but the batter made in the cake pan was more dense. I think letting the batter sit for an hour allows the air bubbles to form and I just lightly scooped the batter into the madeleine pan. When I put it in the cake pan I just scraped it in and it eliminated a lot of the bubbles. So for those who thought it was too dense, perhaps just be very careful with the batter. But this is my first time making madeleines, just an observation. I thought they were tasty and think they would be even better with the glaze made with lemon juice and powdered sugar as another lady suggested. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very simple and always come up good. My son just loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
It seems like there are two types of madeleines, and just based on the descriptions and ingredients from various recipes I couldn't tell which one I should go for. I guess I chose the wrong one. They taste good and I'm sure the cookies will get eaten, but they definitely have a more cake-like consistency than I would prefer. As a point of reference, I think Starbucks madeleines have the perfect consistency. Aside from that, I doubled the recipe because I wanted two dozen, but I ended up with four dozen. I don't know if there are different sized pans but the recipe as is would have made two dozen for me. Also, I didn't have lemon zest, and since I had so much extra batter I decided to do half of them plain and half lemon. So for the first two batches I just left the lemon out, and then I added about a tsp of lemon extract to the remaining batter for the second two batches. I ended up with a delicious lemon flavor that was not overpowering. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I made this recipe exactly the way it says to make it. They turned out perfect! I made them for a tea party with a friend and she thought they were great too. I would say the recipe actually makes more like 14 madeleines, rather than 12. Also, they are best on the first day, but still delicious after two days. I would recommend sprinkling additional confectioner's sugar on them because after the first day, they seem to absorb the confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rochelle586
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Great tasting cookies and very simple recipe! This is much simpler than others I've tried over the years, and the cookies were not too dense. To begin, I changed the recipe yield to 36... and I got 60 (which is great because I inevitably eat some while baking). I followed other reviews and beat the eggs and sugar until frothy, and I sifted the flour and baking powder twice. I used 1/4 tsp more vanilla and slightly less lemon & zest in my batter. I used an electric mixer, so the batter was moving as I added the room temperature butter and the dry ingredients. All of that extra air really made for light cookies. My mold was already non-stick, but I used a light spray of baking spray with flour EACH time I filled the molds, and wiped out the crumbs after every batch. I used about 1 1/4 tsp. batter per each mold, baked for 9 minutes @ 365 degrees on convection/bake mode and the cookies were perfectly golden on the edges and had a springy texture in the middle. When the cookies are completely cool, I dipped them in melting chocolate and let them harden on a wax paper lined tray. They were very dramatic looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
LOVE these cookies! I used juice and zest from a whole lemon for more lemon flavor. Taste great on their own or when dipped into coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
They are so so good!! high-recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Great! We also made a glaze using powdered sugar and the other half of lemon juice. We also followed some of the users advice and used all the lemon zest from both halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is truly a lovely batter! I added some more lemon to acquire my taste, and left out the vanilla extract. I didn't have Madeleine molds so I just greased a pan. It came out really nice and I am happy with this recipe. it really inspired me to try lemon flavored cakes and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States