Lemon Madeleines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Just finished making these, and they are delicious. I didn’t have the proper mold so I ended up using a regular cupcake pan. It worked fine I just had to cook them for close to 20 minutes to get them to rise completely. I ended up using close two 4 tablespoons of zest. Very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
More lemon zest! Use 4 Tbsp for a real lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made these for our cookie exchange needed 10 dz. so I made half of them with orange instead of lemon then I dipped the tips, melted white choc for the lemon and milk choc for the orange ones wonderful tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Taste-wise, this was a great recipe. The lemon flavor was perfect as is; I didn't add extra zest as some did. Everything else about this recipe misses the mark, though. I knew I was taking a risk when I picked this recipe, though. They are much too moist and dense to be madeleines as is. My suggestions: beat the eggs and sugar until they are thick and fluffy (5 minutes should do). Whisk together the baking powder and flour, then sift and fold them into the egg mixture. This should help fight the denseness that might be a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! Fast easy and excellent for dunking in tea or coffee. I did not find them too dense at all but I do whip the eggs and sugar until they are nice and fluffy. I also use the zest of a whole lemon rather than half. I make them all the time now and I've only had one mishap (used too much lemon juice and they came out like pucks!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Yummy lemon madeleines! Easy to make, even for a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made a glaze for these with lemon juice and powdered sugar and dipped them in the glaze while hot....... yummmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I must have done something wrong. Mine came out really heavy and tasted terrible. I know I should have baked them for longer, perhaps that was the problem. I tried a different recipe ("Madeleines II") and had great results with that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is truly a lovely batter! I added some more lemon to acquire my taste, and left out the vanilla extract. I didn't have Madeleine molds so I just greased a pan. It came out really nice and I am happy with this recipe. it really inspired me to try lemon flavored cakes and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Easy to make and very yummy. I suggest to sift together the flour, sugar and baking powder. Also to try whisking the eggs until almost double in size. The madeleines came out dense with a fine crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taytay, Rizal, Philippines
Living In: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States