Lemon Macaroon Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I use the same recipe for the coconut tart, but have used a variety of different fillings. Chocolate "ganache" - 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 TB of milk, melt in microwave (30-60 seconds more or less, stirring frequently) and then stir until smooth. I do this in a Pyrex glass measuring cup and then just pour the chocolate filling into the tart cups. I sprinkle a little coconut on top (which I sometimes color with food coloring- like red, white and blue for 4th of July or red and green for Christmas) OR put a raspberry on top OR a little crushed almonds on top for an Almond Joy flavor. Lemon curd - just dollop lemon curd in the tart shell and top with a raspberry and then sprinkle with powdered sugar. Chocolate Cheesecake - just dollop refrigerated ready-made cheesecake filling into the tart shell and top with chocolate ganache. Raspberry cheesecake - put a small dollop of raspberry jelly in the tart and top with ready-made cheesecake filling and top with a raspberry and /or a little chocolate ganache. Really, the combinations are endless. I personally don't think pudding and cool whip sound very appetizing for these delicious tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mln221

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This was the hit of the shower I threw this past weekend! I made the macaroons a day in advance, substituted lemon curd for the pudding and piped real whipped cream on top with a snipped sandwich bag. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
A nice fresh tasting summertime treat. To get a more intense lemon flavor I added lemon zest (the yellow peel from a fresh lemon)to the pudding mixture and topped the Cool Whip with coconut and lemon zest for added taste and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This rating is for the shells only. Easy and very good filled with the Lemon Curd by Margaret on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Made these for my brother's wedding reception, and they were great! Very easy yet elegant. Next time I will splurge on time or money and either buy or make my own lemon curd - instant lemon pudding just doesn't have the intense lemon flavor I was hoping for. Or maybe I'll just replace some milk with lemon juice when I make the pudding...either way, will certainly make again. Thanks Andrea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
These look professionally made, and someone said they were the best things he'd ever tasted. Keep an eye on the macaroon shells when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
The lemon and coconut go very well together. These are perfect for parties, nice presentation and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very very good. I didn't have a 24 mini muffin pan, mine was only 18 so they were a little full (I had to scoop out the middle to make room for filling). If you only have 18 either multiply the recipe by 1.5 and do two pans worth or save some batter and do a second batch of another half (fill the remaining cups w/ some water). I also found this incredibly sticky and I couldn't use my fingers. I sprayed the back of a measuring spoon for every cup w/ cooking spray. This was a bit of effort, but pretty darn tasty, especially to the coconut lovers in my family. I filled them with the lemon curd from this site (amazing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
These were extremely easy to make. You just have to make sure they are pressed into the muffin cups evenly, to make sure there's enough of a hole for the filling. If you make the "walls" of the cup too thick, they will be too chewy (the ones I made with thinner "walls" tasted better). I filled these with lemon curd and topped with fresh sweetened whipped cream. My guests really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
Not quite as lemony as I was hoping. Not one of those "can't-stop-eating-'em" desserts but quite good nonetheless. Next time I think I'll try white chocolate or regular chocolate pudding instead---I think they'd be a nice option in the macaroon "shells."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Berry Tartlets

These impressive little lemon-curd tarts are surprisingly simple to make.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States