Lemon Macaroon Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
They were delicious and very easy to make. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I had success with these. I did notice that you really need to squish the mixture down into the tartlet cups. They puffed a little and the cups weren't as deep (or cooked) as I would've liked. Next time I'll use less coconut mixture per tartlet cup. I also used a chocolate mousse recipe from this site for the filling and sprinkled toasted sliced almonds on most of them. They were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dom's mommy
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Wow this was soo good! I never bake but this recipe was so quick and easy. The only addition I made was adding lemon zest and freshly squeezed lemon juice to the pudding to give it an extra lemony kick. The presentation is great too - my food never looks as good as it tastes but this definitley does. Great recipe for parties, I'll definitley be making this treat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mamaroneck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
To get a more lemony taste, use lemon juice instead of milk in the pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I use the same recipe for the coconut tart, but have used a variety of different fillings. Chocolate "ganache" - 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 TB of milk, melt in microwave (30-60 seconds more or less, stirring frequently) and then stir until smooth. I do this in a Pyrex glass measuring cup and then just pour the chocolate filling into the tart cups. I sprinkle a little coconut on top (which I sometimes color with food coloring- like red, white and blue for 4th of July or red and green for Christmas) OR put a raspberry on top OR a little crushed almonds on top for an Almond Joy flavor. Lemon curd - just dollop lemon curd in the tart shell and top with a raspberry and then sprinkle with powdered sugar. Chocolate Cheesecake - just dollop refrigerated ready-made cheesecake filling into the tart shell and top with chocolate ganache. Raspberry cheesecake - put a small dollop of raspberry jelly in the tart and top with ready-made cheesecake filling and top with a raspberry and /or a little chocolate ganache. Really, the combinations are endless. I personally don't think pudding and cool whip sound very appetizing for these delicious tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mln221

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darcey55
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These were really good and have a good presentation. I made chocolate pudding instead of lemon. If I make these again, however, I will find a filling other than pudding. It just didn't seem to have the right texture or flavor as a filling for these. I like the idea of a lemon curd or maybe a chocolate mousse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcey55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This recipe looked great, but the macaroon recipe looked too sweet to me, so I modified it by using icing sugar and unsweetened coconut to balance the flavours. I brought this into work. My workplace is 90% women and they're hard to please but this was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jm6158
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Absolutely great when using Margaret's lemon curd recipe from this site, & fresh whipped cream on top. I took them to a bbq & they were gone before we had even started grilling! Next time I make them though, I will probably use a little less coconut & a little more flour as the crust was slightly more chewy then I wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
i gave this 3 stars because even though the crust is really good, i think it would be better as macaroon cookies rather than a crust. As a crust it was too chewy and crisp on the edges.For the filling i added a cream cheese layer. I mixed cream cheese and cool whip together (about 8oz cream cheese and 2 cups cool whip).I filled the cups with a spoonful of the cream cheese mix and the lemon pudding on top. the filling came out great but lemon curd would probably have been better than the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These were ok. I wanted a dessert serving and used a full sized muffin tin, but they would be better kept as bite size. I tried lemon pudding, lemon curd, a mixture of both, and some with a little melted chocolate inside the cups. The lemon pudding ones were boring at best, the lemon curd ones were pretty good, and the chocolate ones just tasted like chocolate. The cups want to fill in while cooking so you have to press them again just after cooking to re-create a bowl. Like someone else said...ok, but just not a "can't stop eating" kind of dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Berry Tartlets

These impressive little lemon-curd tarts are surprisingly simple to make.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States