Lemon Lush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Five stars for concept, but sadly only two stars for ingredients. If made as written the crust would be flat, tasteless - just flour and butter? I added 1/2 cup of confectioners' sugar and that was all it needed. Instant lemon pudding would not taste like lemon to me, it would taste artificial, because it is. So I skipped that and used a fresh, homemade lemon curd instead, "Microwave Lemon Curd," also from this site. Finally, I used real whipped cream rather than the Cool Whip. My tastebuds were in heaven - this was goooood. Creamy, lemony, buttery good. Even Hubs loved it - and the only thing he likes lemon with is fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was so delicious! I decided to make a graham cracker crust instead of a flour/butter crust and I also used a canned lemon pie filling instead of a pudding mix. Then I made some fresh whipped cream for the top, and wow. It was killer! It had that tartness I was looking for but the whipped cream and the cream cheese really cut the pie filling nicely. I ended up making several muffin-sized pies instead of one large pie because I thought it would be nice to have single portioned sizes for whenever. The rest of them we just kept in the freezer. This is a really yummy recipe! I will definitely be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allymarin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I've had this recipe for years and it has always been a hit, never any left in the pan. It can be made, of course, with any flavor pudding. I just made it for Easter with pistachio pudding (also good for St. Patrick's Day celebrations), and I have also used chocolate and butterscotch. Never thought of banana, but it sounds yummy. A few changes: My recipe calls for 3/4 cup of nuts in the crust which is an important part of the taste. It also calls for confectioner's sugar instead of white sugar and 8 oz. of Cool Whip blended into the filling, as someone suggested. The amount of milk for the pudding is listed as 3 cups, which keeps the pudding at a good consistency. This is definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Fantastic Easter dessert. I modified to graham cracker crust and lemon pie fillng. absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
entire family liked it, and even took the little bit of left overs to work and it didn't last long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was very good my Husband and I liked it alot.It's even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
My husband and I both enjoyed this. I did follow the recipe exactly although I did scale it down to half a recipe because it was just the two of us eating it. I will definitely make this again and I think I will follow other's suggestions of adding a little chopped nuts to the crust and adding a little extra lemon juice to the pudding because I love lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I make the lemon with a little fresh lemon juice and lemon zest added to the pudding. I also decrease the milk to 3 cups. One of my all time favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Sorry guys I was disappointed. I was looking so forward to trying it but it was just ok. I followed other suggestions to add fresh lemon in with the pudding and cream cheese, I'm sure it made a difference but it was not a hit in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This is fanatstic!!! I used butterscotch pudding instead of lemon for personal preference. I will be making this again tomorrow and will add a layer of toffee chips on top!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States