Lemon Lush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is a very good recipe, everyone seemed to really enjoy it, but I have to agree with others that the lemon pudding is too "fake" tasting and doesn't do this recipe justice. The pudding wasn't lemon-y enough, but to fix that I added some lemon zest on top and that helped a lot. What would bring this recipe to a fantastic, beyond five star recipe is to simply nix the pudding and instead do lemon pie filling. I'm going to make my own next time and I think this will be an incredible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie_cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This recipe has a lot of possibilities... I didn't really like the lemon puding, but you can use lemon pie filling and it is much better. Also, you can use any different kind of pie filling for a change. I add a little almond extract to the cream cheese mixture and use cherry pie filling, then sprinkle sliced almonds on top of the cool whip. I have also used peach pie filling. Very good, just use your imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is a great, refreshing dessert! I followed the recipe exact, and wish I had followed other reviewers and added some lemon extract or lemon juice to the pudding mixture. I will definitely do this the next time, because I would like it to be more tart, a stronger lemon flavor. Don't get me wrong, this is delicious as is, but it's very mild as lemon flavor goes. This has a lot potential, the pudding flavors could be changed, but keep the recipe the same. The crust in this is excellent, would work with chocolate pudding too. I would like to try lemon pie filling with this instead of pudding also. This recipe is a keeper, wonderful for the summer months..thank you! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Made to specifications and it was a huge hit! Not having worked with pudding and jello mixes before, I was unaware that this would take Several hours to set. It was suggested by my mother-in-law that when she adds fruit or anything else to jello and pudding mixes, it takes much longer. The recipe was incredibly rich and delicious. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
When I mentioned to my family that I made a lemony dessert no one seemed too excited-until they took their first bite! We loved it! The only change I made was adding about a 1/2 tsp. of lemon extract to the pudding. I wouldn't hesitate to serve this to company. This would be especially refreshing on a hot summer day. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Ahh, what memories this recipe brings me. I have made a version of this. I use chopped walnuts in the crust. For the cream chesse mix, I add in Cool Whip and powdered sugar. Talk about hurting yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is the most delicious dessert. The blend of cream cheese and lemon is amazingly refreshing. Throw in the nutty crust and you have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrigamiMei

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Based on the other reviews, I used homemade lemon and a graham cracker pie crust, and it was fantastic (and homemade lemon pudding is surprisingly fast and easy to make). My coworkers and I had this eaten in less than 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is a great and very versatile recipe. I like to add some chopped almonds to the crust- gives it a slightly nutty flavor. During the summertime I like to use banana pudding and the strawberry Kool-whip instead of lemon and vanilla. You can play around with different flavors- and even different flavors of cream cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I get many compliments when I make this simple dessert. I like to make mine with a graham cracker crust. The last time I made it I used Famous Amos Lemon Cookies for the crust then sprinkled the crumbs on top too. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHATMOMMA1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States