Lemon Lush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Five stars for concept, but sadly only two stars for ingredients. If made as written the crust would be flat, tasteless - just flour and butter? I added 1/2 cup of confectioners' sugar and that was all it needed. Instant lemon pudding would not taste like lemon to me, it would taste artificial, because it is. So I skipped that and used a fresh, homemade lemon curd instead, "Microwave Lemon Curd," also from this site. Finally, I used real whipped cream rather than the Cool Whip. My tastebuds were in heaven - this was goooood. Creamy, lemony, buttery good. Even Hubs loved it - and the only thing he likes lemon with is fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
OK-This recipe has such potential to be better than a five-with slight modifications. I must agree with the rest - the lemon pudding itself was fake tasting and I too had to add lemon juice and lemon rind to kick it up to a nice lemon taste. Now in doing that my lemon pudding got a little too runny and didn't set up as nice. Next time I will add a little less liquid(in the milk/heavy cream) to compensate for the lemon juice. To make the pudding mix layer itself I did use half heavy cream and half milk-because it makes the pudding soo much more rich and tasty. I also used fresh whipped cream (2cups heavy cream, 3/4 cup sifted confectioners sugar and a squirt of vanilla-whip in chilled bowl with chilled wisk or paddles) instead of cool whip and it was awesome. This really is such a great little recipe that is soo easy to make with such a nice combination of flavors-cream cheese,lemon and fresh whipped cream. YUMMY!! Don't pass it up-just make sure to add either the lemon juice or lemon extract if you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I subbed in 2-15oz cans of lemon pie filling for the lemon pudding and this was awesome. My Easter guests loved it-it's cool and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe isn't something I would have prepared for myself, because I don't like lemon pudding mix or Cool Whip, but I made it for my great-uncle who loves both. It was a huge hit with him. I'm not sure why people bother to make recipes full of ingredients they don't like, then write negative reviews. Create your own versions using ingredients you like, and then submit them for publication. This recipe is simple, inexpensive, and works great for people who enjoy the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have this same recipe and the lemon cheese cake is a definite show stopper. Except one thing, for the bottom crust I use 1 1/2 cups chopped pecans or walnuts and 1 cup flour and 1 stick of butter. The rest is all the same and it is fantastic. I call a recipe like this, an Impressor. Guaranteed to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This is a definite family request at our holiday get togethers and all our summer picnics! It tastes just like a cool & creamy version of lemon meringue pie, but better :) I add 2 tablespoons of lemon juice to the cream cheese part and I also use confectioner's sugar instead of granulated. Every once in a while I add a half of an 8 ounce container of Cool Whip to my cream cheese layer and cut back on my sugar. I also make sure to buy a couple of extra boxes of Lemon Pastry Creams from the Girl Scouts, because I crumple a few up to sprinkle over the top of the Cool Whip~yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Oh baby! This was amazing! I used a Keebler Shortbread crust because I really didn't want to have the oven on when it's so hot, and this dessert was fabulous. I'm sure I'll experiment with different puddings, like other reviewers, but it will be hard to improve on the original. A definite keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I prefer a graham cracker crust to lighten up this dessert. I also added 1/8 cup lemon juice to the lemon filling. My family enjoys tart desserts. This is great, thanks for sharing Mrs. Kelly Z!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Perfect for a summer day!! I also made it with banana pudding and put sliced bananas on the crust before adding the pudding. Also I cut all the ingredients in half and pout it into a 7x11 pan - it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This is excellent! I used lite Cool Whip, low-fat cream cheese, & skim milk, and I also used 1 cup of ground walnuts in the crust. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States