Lemon Lu Lu Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My husband and I polished off this cake in record time! We couldn't get enough of it!!!! Try this one. You won't regret it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
You must love tart lemon flavor to appreciate this cake! Unfortunately, most of my guests didn't enjoy it. I prefer it tart and it was almost too tart for me. I won't make it again, since I can't eat a whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
So delicious!! I got quite a few compliments on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I would suggest 1/2 cup of lemon juice...I believe the extra cup is a misprint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent and moist! Not as good as Mother Myrick's Lemon LuLu but very good, nonetheless. I halved the glaze recipe and would also recommend mixing the lemon juice to two parts lemon juice and 1 part water. This will keep it snappy but not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I thought I MUST HAVE read the amout of lemon juice when I poured the liquid over the cake. It overflowed. It wasn't smooth, maybe a little to much lemon juice. I will try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Wow - was this lemony! Very good and very moist; actually, so moist that it really didn't need the glaze. I will definitely make it again, though next time maybe with a cream cheese frosting with a tiny bit of lemon zest. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This cake is so eazy and tastes so good!!! Ive made it several times and it has been a great crowd pleaser! The only draw back is that the recipie calls for way too much topping. I used only half the ammount of powdered suggar and lemmon juice called for and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was very good. I added poppy seeds to the cake batter. I wonder about the 1 1/2 cups of lemon juice in the glaze, though. It seemed like an awful lot of liquid to me. I used 1 cup of lemon juice and it was pretty tart. Depends on taste, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made this cake for my mom's birthday today as she likes lemony desserts. Following some of the suggestions, I used 1/3 cup applesauce for the oil and only 2 cups confectioner's sugar and 1 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice for the icing. The cake was moist with a very pronounced lemon flavor (just what I was wanting). It was easy to make and my mom loved it. The next time I want a lemon dessert, I'll turn to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States