Lemon Lu Lu Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This cake was good after significantly modifying it per other's reviews. The main modification being to reduce the glaze to 1-1/2 c. powdered sugar, 1/2 c. lemon juice and 1 T butter. With these modifications, the cake was very good. Thanks for sharing, 2WANNA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great Recipe! Made this tonight and my family loved it. The cake is very moist. The only change I made was to use two cups of confectioners sugar and 1/2 cup lemon juice for the glaze topping, I also omitted the melted butter. What the recipe called for just seemed like too much and I did not want a soggy cake. After pouring the glaze on the cake I put it in the fridge to chill for a few hours. It turned out perfect with the adjustment and not too sweet. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My husband and I polished off this cake in record time! We couldn't get enough of it!!!! Try this one. You won't regret it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
You must love tart lemon flavor to appreciate this cake! Unfortunately, most of my guests didn't enjoy it. I prefer it tart and it was almost too tart for me. I won't make it again, since I can't eat a whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
So delicious!! I got quite a few compliments on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I would suggest 1/2 cup of lemon juice...I believe the extra cup is a misprint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent and moist! Not as good as Mother Myrick's Lemon LuLu but very good, nonetheless. I halved the glaze recipe and would also recommend mixing the lemon juice to two parts lemon juice and 1 part water. This will keep it snappy but not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I thought I MUST HAVE read the amout of lemon juice when I poured the liquid over the cake. It overflowed. It wasn't smooth, maybe a little to much lemon juice. I will try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Wow - was this lemony! Very good and very moist; actually, so moist that it really didn't need the glaze. I will definitely make it again, though next time maybe with a cream cheese frosting with a tiny bit of lemon zest. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This cake is so eazy and tastes so good!!! Ive made it several times and it has been a great crowd pleaser! The only draw back is that the recipie calls for way too much topping. I used only half the ammount of powdered suggar and lemmon juice called for and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States