Lemon Lu Lu Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great Recipe! Made this tonight and my family loved it. The cake is very moist. The only change I made was to use two cups of confectioners sugar and 1/2 cup lemon juice for the glaze topping, I also omitted the melted butter. What the recipe called for just seemed like too much and I did not want a soggy cake. After pouring the glaze on the cake I put it in the fridge to chill for a few hours. It turned out perfect with the adjustment and not too sweet. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My husband and I polished off this cake in record time! We couldn't get enough of it!!!! Try this one. You won't regret it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
You must love tart lemon flavor to appreciate this cake! Unfortunately, most of my guests didn't enjoy it. I prefer it tart and it was almost too tart for me. I won't make it again, since I can't eat a whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
So delicious!! I got quite a few compliments on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I would suggest 1/2 cup of lemon juice...I believe the extra cup is a misprint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent and moist! Not as good as Mother Myrick's Lemon LuLu but very good, nonetheless. I halved the glaze recipe and would also recommend mixing the lemon juice to two parts lemon juice and 1 part water. This will keep it snappy but not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I thought I MUST HAVE read the amout of lemon juice when I poured the liquid over the cake. It overflowed. It wasn't smooth, maybe a little to much lemon juice. I will try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Wow - was this lemony! Very good and very moist; actually, so moist that it really didn't need the glaze. I will definitely make it again, though next time maybe with a cream cheese frosting with a tiny bit of lemon zest. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This cake is so eazy and tastes so good!!! Ive made it several times and it has been a great crowd pleaser! The only draw back is that the recipie calls for way too much topping. I used only half the ammount of powdered suggar and lemmon juice called for and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was very good. I added poppy seeds to the cake batter. I wonder about the 1 1/2 cups of lemon juice in the glaze, though. It seemed like an awful lot of liquid to me. I used 1 cup of lemon juice and it was pretty tart. Depends on taste, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States