Lemon Lu Lu Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
Best cake I ever tasted. I used mix with pudding already in it but added a box of pudding anyway. Baked in bundt pan, cut glaze recipe by 1/3. Voila! Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
YUM! Just like the cake my grandma used to make for my friends and I. When I was a teenager, we spent summer days swimming in grandma's pool, and eating "lemonade cake" as she used to call it. She kept it in the fridge, and it was SO refreshing on a hot summer day. I made this in a 9X13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
This cake was gooooood!!!!!! It was easy to make, it was very tasty, and received good reviews from the quests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This cake was really easy...I substituted 3/4 cup applesauce for the eggs in the cake mix directions (as my daughter's allergic to eggs)--1/4 cup applesauce for each egg. I also substituted 1/4 cup lemon juice for 1/4 cup of the water that the cake mix directions called for. When the cake came out of the oven, I made the glaze with 3 parts powdered sugar to 1 part lemon juice (about 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1/2 cup lemon juice total), as I saw a few other reviewers mention that the recipe made too much glaze, and t least one other mention that the glaze seemed too thin. The 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and the 1/2 cup lemon juice I used was just about right for my taste in terms of thickness and amount (I omitted the butter). I also used a fork to poke the holes in the cake, to make it go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This cake was very quick and easy to make. My kids made it with their babysitter! I love the tanginess. It was just what I wanted. Based on another review, they only made 2/3 of the glaze, which was the perfect amount. We will definately have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I tweeked this recipe a little when I made it based on others' reviews. My husband and I are both loving it! For the cake, I added the lemon pudding, but instead of making the cake with oil, I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. The low fat directions on most cake mixes will tell you 1/3 cup applesauce, but those little individual servings are 1/2 cup and oh-so-easy to keep on hand and just dump in! For the glaze, I only made 2/3 the recipe and left the butter out entirely. So I just used 2 cups powdered sugar and 1 cup lemon juice. This cake does have a definite lemon twang, but why else would you eat lemon cake?! It's super moist and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
wow! i made this cake as the dessert at my in-law's dinner tonight and they LOVED it! next time i will cut down on the glaze as i think it made the cake a bit mushy on the bottom, but no one else complained! ez, refreshing, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This cake is yummy! My husband loves it! and the friends we had over last night were raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
great to make for kids. My 4 and 1 yr old sons loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This cake turned out very good even though I did not have any pudding to add. The recipe made way too much glaze. We all liked the tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States