Lemon Lu Lu Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This cake was really easy...I substituted 3/4 cup applesauce for the eggs in the cake mix directions (as my daughter's allergic to eggs)--1/4 cup applesauce for each egg. I also substituted 1/4 cup lemon juice for 1/4 cup of the water that the cake mix directions called for. When the cake came out of the oven, I made the glaze with 3 parts powdered sugar to 1 part lemon juice (about 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1/2 cup lemon juice total), as I saw a few other reviewers mention that the recipe made too much glaze, and t least one other mention that the glaze seemed too thin. The 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and the 1/2 cup lemon juice I used was just about right for my taste in terms of thickness and amount (I omitted the butter). I also used a fork to poke the holes in the cake, to make it go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I tweeked this recipe a little when I made it based on others' reviews. My husband and I are both loving it! For the cake, I added the lemon pudding, but instead of making the cake with oil, I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. The low fat directions on most cake mixes will tell you 1/3 cup applesauce, but those little individual servings are 1/2 cup and oh-so-easy to keep on hand and just dump in! For the glaze, I only made 2/3 the recipe and left the butter out entirely. So I just used 2 cups powdered sugar and 1 cup lemon juice. This cake does have a definite lemon twang, but why else would you eat lemon cake?! It's super moist and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
Best cake I ever tasted. I used mix with pudding already in it but added a box of pudding anyway. Baked in bundt pan, cut glaze recipe by 1/3. Voila! Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
The cake was wonderful, the icing had way too much "lu lu" to it! (My guests puckered and shivered!) I believe the lemon juice amount MUST be a misprint. Would be better with maybe 1 1/2 TBLSPN of lemon juice, not CUPS. Still a great cake though and next time I will go with my gut about the lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was very good. I added poppy seeds to the cake batter. I wonder about the 1 1/2 cups of lemon juice in the glaze, though. It seemed like an awful lot of liquid to me. I used 1 cup of lemon juice and it was pretty tart. Depends on taste, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
YUM! Just like the cake my grandma used to make for my friends and I. When I was a teenager, we spent summer days swimming in grandma's pool, and eating "lemonade cake" as she used to call it. She kept it in the fridge, and it was SO refreshing on a hot summer day. I made this in a 9X13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
This cake was gooooood!!!!!! It was easy to make, it was very tasty, and received good reviews from the quests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I would suggest 1/2 cup of lemon juice...I believe the extra cup is a misprint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent and moist! Not as good as Mother Myrick's Lemon LuLu but very good, nonetheless. I halved the glaze recipe and would also recommend mixing the lemon juice to two parts lemon juice and 1 part water. This will keep it snappy but not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made this cake for my mom's birthday today as she likes lemony desserts. Following some of the suggestions, I used 1/3 cup applesauce for the oil and only 2 cups confectioner's sugar and 1 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice for the icing. The cake was moist with a very pronounced lemon flavor (just what I was wanting). It was easy to make and my mom loved it. The next time I want a lemon dessert, I'll turn to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States