Lemon Lu Lu Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Excellent! Based on another review, I decreased the amount of lemon juice (1/2 cup) and powdered sugar (1 1/2 cups). Overall an excellent cake. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
lemon juice glaze was crazy and I cut it even.Whole cake melted into a mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This cake was really easy...I substituted 3/4 cup applesauce for the eggs in the cake mix directions (as my daughter's allergic to eggs)--1/4 cup applesauce for each egg. I also substituted 1/4 cup lemon juice for 1/4 cup of the water that the cake mix directions called for. When the cake came out of the oven, I made the glaze with 3 parts powdered sugar to 1 part lemon juice (about 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1/2 cup lemon juice total), as I saw a few other reviewers mention that the recipe made too much glaze, and t least one other mention that the glaze seemed too thin. The 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and the 1/2 cup lemon juice I used was just about right for my taste in terms of thickness and amount (I omitted the butter). I also used a fork to poke the holes in the cake, to make it go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Reitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This cake is yummy! My husband loves it! and the friends we had over last night were raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I tweeked this recipe a little when I made it based on others' reviews. My husband and I are both loving it! For the cake, I added the lemon pudding, but instead of making the cake with oil, I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. The low fat directions on most cake mixes will tell you 1/3 cup applesauce, but those little individual servings are 1/2 cup and oh-so-easy to keep on hand and just dump in! For the glaze, I only made 2/3 the recipe and left the butter out entirely. So I just used 2 cups powdered sugar and 1 cup lemon juice. This cake does have a definite lemon twang, but why else would you eat lemon cake?! It's super moist and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
The cake was wonderful, the icing had way too much "lu lu" to it! (My guests puckered and shivered!) I believe the lemon juice amount MUST be a misprint. Would be better with maybe 1 1/2 TBLSPN of lemon juice, not CUPS. Still a great cake though and next time I will go with my gut about the lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Lang Turnage-Mortgage O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
The cake was delicious, my friends kept asking for seconds! My only complaint is that the icing is INCREDIBLY thin and makes waaay too much. After following the recipe, I had to almost TRIPLE the powdered sugar to get it to a normal "glaze" thickness! Definitely won't use this icing again, but the cake was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This cake turned out very good even though I did not have any pudding to add. The recipe made way too much glaze. We all liked the tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
wow! i made this cake as the dessert at my in-law's dinner tonight and they LOVED it! next time i will cut down on the glaze as i think it made the cake a bit mushy on the bottom, but no one else complained! ez, refreshing, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This cake was very quick and easy to make. My kids made it with their babysitter! I love the tanginess. It was just what I wanted. Based on another review, they only made 2/3 of the glaze, which was the perfect amount. We will definately have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States