Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
We enjoyed the cake. I will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEA303

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I cook on a guest ranch for 20 to 30 people and make this cake at least twice a week. It is always a hit with all my guests. I did not use the glaze, though, and I don't think this cake needs one to begin with. It tastes great and has the perfect sweetness and consistency. No add-ons or changes necessary unless you use it as a base for different flavoured cakes like I do. I substitute the lemon with coffee and 4 tablespoons cocoa powder for a chocolate pound cake or add 1/2 cup of ground almonds, 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract for an almond pound cake. This cake freezes very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The cake was outstanding!!! The cake and glaze came out perfect. So moist! Mm Mm Good! This cake taste great. This is a recipe I will keep for years to come. P.S. This is my first time making a lemon pound cake and this recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
My family was craving a lemony dessert tonight. So, I pulled this one up, printed it, just had a slice. Very good! The fresh lemon taste was just what we were looking for. Also, I only had 3/4 cup of butter and I can't imagine it being any better if I had used a whole cup! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
OUTSTANDING SUMMER DELIGHT THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
One word: AMAZING! The amount of lemon was EXACTLTLY what I was looking for. I made this to bring to a party and it was a HUGE success. I didn't change anything, but used a really old electric oven and had to cook it an additional 20 minutes before it was done. The icing made a LOT of extra, and I pretty much coated the whole cake in it but it was delicious and I certainly intend on making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Delicious!!! Even without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made this recently, didn't change a thing. My mom said it was the best pound cake she'd ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
SUPER!Buttery and moist!I left out the lemon extract and it was still perfect.This one goes in as a keeper.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is a VERY moist lemon cake, loved it!!!! I did make a different glaze though, as this cake would be out on the counter and sour cream must be refrigerated. I mixed 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, 1 teaspoon of grated lemon peel, and 1 1/2 cups of conf. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States