Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The cake was outstanding!!! The cake and glaze came out perfect. So moist! Mm Mm Good! This cake taste great. This is a recipe I will keep for years to come. P.S. This is my first time making a lemon pound cake and this recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The cake was great! I only used one stick of butter by mistake but it still tasted good. I also used fat free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I love this recipe i been looking for a simple yet tasty recipe.And i have found it i shall not look any futher.This recipe is Fablous i did tweet it a little instead of lemon rind i just add an addition Tsp of lemon juice and an addition Tsp of lemon extract.And for the icing i add about 1/2 cup of cream cheese and a Tsp of lemon extract and about 1 cup give or take of confectioner sugar to the prror icing. Thank You Thank you i really have search high and low for a lemon cake recipe this is a Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this to bring to my parent's house for Easter Dinner. I gave it 4 stars since I changed the recipe. I did everything the same except, I added an additional 1/2 cup of butter, and did not add salt since I was using salted butter. The cake was very dense, moist, and had a nice lemony flavor. Everyone enjoyed the cake. I loved the lemon glaze, and would use the lemon glaze again on a plain pound cake! I also had to leave in oven for 1 hour and 30 minutes probably because of the extra stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
My family was craving a lemony dessert tonight. So, I pulled this one up, printed it, just had a slice. Very good! The fresh lemon taste was just what we were looking for. Also, I only had 3/4 cup of butter and I can't imagine it being any better if I had used a whole cup! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
OUTSTANDING SUMMER DELIGHT THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
We enjoyed the cake. I will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEA303

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
One word: AMAZING! The amount of lemon was EXACTLTLY what I was looking for. I made this to bring to a party and it was a HUGE success. I didn't change anything, but used a really old electric oven and had to cook it an additional 20 minutes before it was done. The icing made a LOT of extra, and I pretty much coated the whole cake in it but it was delicious and I certainly intend on making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Delicious!!! Even without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I cook on a guest ranch for 20 to 30 people and make this cake at least twice a week. It is always a hit with all my guests. I did not use the glaze, though, and I don't think this cake needs one to begin with. It tastes great and has the perfect sweetness and consistency. No add-ons or changes necessary unless you use it as a base for different flavoured cakes like I do. I substitute the lemon with coffee and 4 tablespoons cocoa powder for a chocolate pound cake or add 1/2 cup of ground almonds, 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract for an almond pound cake. This cake freezes very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States