Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and iced them with lemon cream cheese icing. They were absolutely, positively delicious. Moist and great texture. I wanted to eat all of them myself! Will use this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This cake came out pretty good for me! It was my second attempt at a pound cake from scratch (the 1st failed miserably- LOL) The lemon flavor was a little milder than I expected but still enough for you to taste it. I would probably add a little more extract. The cake was moist and soft! I will most def try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Yummmmmm!!!! This was so easy and so delicious!! I followed the directions carefully & set my timer for 10 minutes less than directed to check for done-ness. I made the icing suggested by other reviewers w/just powdered sugar and lemon juice. I can't wait for another occasion to make this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
If you love lemon, you will love this cake. sometimes I use a long pan instead of making a pound cake. It comes out perfect every time I make it. I have nothing bad to say! This cake does not stay around! It's real lemony so if you are not crazy about lemon, it will be too much lemon favor for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This cake was just ok. I was expecting this amazing cake based on the other reviews, but wasn't impressed. The glaze/icing was awful. I will most likely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Love it!its so moist and fluffy!Added a lil more lemonzest though. i'm sure gonna make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was awesome!!! I followed the directions exactly but realized that I had was that it made too much to fit into one pan. I should have put the extra bit into a smaller pan, but I just poured all into one bundt. I also should have greased and floured up my pan more, as I had a difficult time getting it out. This cake tastes even better after it has been in the fridge for a couple of hours. I highly recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I thought the batter was better than the cake!! Family loved the cake - even my hubby who isn't a white cake fan. I made the mistake of leaving out the lemon in the cake but icing with the lemon glaze. As for the texture, mine turned out a little drier than I like and not as dense. I probably beat batter too much, though. Will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I really liked this cake. I can't say I would call it "Lemon Lover's Pound Cake." It is not a pound cake. It was not that lemony. However, I will make it again with some modifications. I added 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice with pulp. I also added more lemon extract. It was a light lemon flavor and was very moist. My family loves it and I liked it too. I just wish it had more of a lemon flavor. I put a lemon glaze on top and this helped magnify lemon flavor. Next time, I think I will make it in 2 round pans and put a lemon curd or something in the middle. I baked this in a bundt pan and also put some of the batter in a 4 inch round baking pan. I baked it at 325 for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I am new to baking. I followed all the directions for this recipe and it turned out GREAT!!! It's now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States