Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is the1st time I have ever made a cake that wasn't from a box mix. I can honestly say that although it was time consuming (I am used to drop, mix and pour) this was the best tasting cake I have ever made! The crisp flavor of the lemon and the icing really complimented the cake w/o it being too sweet! My hubby is not a fan of cake, but he tried a nibble, and took away a hunk of it! Great recipe! And now my go to summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I've been baking since I was 10 and I've never had such problems getting a cake out of a pan. With plenty of greasing and many efforts running a knife around the edge it would not budge. I finally got so frustrated I had to succumb to cutting itno the cake part to get it out and forego bringing it to the party. Agree with others that baking time was Awkward. The flavor and consistency were great so I will try agai using a tube pan with removable bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was okay for both flavor and texture, but not what I expected for a pound cake. I'm not a cake expert but I didn't understand why the recipe called for both natural and artificial flavorings. I didn't have/use the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Lovely lemon flavoured cake. Did not use any icing. I halved the recipe and cooked at 325 for about 45 minutes. I was testing it out and did not want to waste so many eggs and such a large amt of sugar. It turned out very nice. Still moist 2 days later! Will make the full recipe the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This turned out fantastic! I was looking for a recipe that was easy enough for my 6-year-old to help me with, but I didn't want to use an instant mix. Today was our first attempt, tomorrow we will make it again with his kindergarten class. The changes: I left out the lemon zest (sometimes little kids don't like it) and I halved the recipe rounding to 3 tbsps of lemon juice and a generous half cup of sour cream. I cooked it in a loaf pan. The texture and color of this cake are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikimouse
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
My comments are for the icing alone! I have not tried this cake, but I use this icing on the Lemon Chiffon cake from this web site and it's just a great addition to this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Fabulous recipe! Due to health reasons, we are a dairy-free household. I did sub Earth Balance sticks and non-dairy sour cream in this recipe and it tasted amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I read most of the reviews before attempting this cake. I found the most consistant problems were the amount of batter and baking time and temperature.. So instead of a bundt pan I opted for a tube pan. It did fill up nicely and I baked it at 325 as suggested by other reviewers for one hour then tested it and the tester came out very wet. Put it back in the oven and after 10 minutes same results so back in for 20 more minutes. Done perfectly. Top just a good brown and cake baked through. That being said I will probably not make this cake again. It was ok but not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy1225

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was a great recipe my hubby LOVED it. Depending on your sweet tooth the frosting may be a little much, I think its good without it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This cake is very rich, very sweet, very dense, but very moist. I baked at 325 and would not do that again, it took over an hour and the outside did not brown. I did not use lemon zest, the cake had a nice, mild lemon flavor. I don't know that I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States