Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Great flavor but too much batter for the pan and too much frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I used this recipe as a base for some lemon cupcakes - it was AWESOME!! I upped the lemon juice (8 TBSP) and zest (2 TBSP) and omitted the extract - other than that all I did was bake it in greased muffin pans for about 25 minutes on a middle rack and they turned out perfect! Moist and lemony, and especially wonderful with a lemon cream cheese frosting on top... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
YUM! Thanks for sharing. The only thing I did different (because apparently I didn't read through the entire recipe and didn't see that I needed sour cream) so I had some vanilla bean yogurt that I substituted instead of the sour cream. The cake cam out yummy and was exactly what I was looking for. I took 1.25 cups of powdered sugar and 1Tblsp of lemon extract and mixed in enough lemon juice until it was the consistency I wanted and put that on top and it gave it a yummy lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Really eggy. Not lemony enough. Bummed that I spent the time to make it and have it turn out so...meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This cake is exceptional! It came out soooo moist and perfect to taste! I made it Tuesday for my family and it was gone by Thursday evening. Huge hit! However one part of the directions is worded confusingly and I can see how the first reviewer said that the cake didn't turn out right for them. I had to ask my sister what "add the creamed mixture alternately with sour cream" meant. She explained to me, that it basically means to just fold the sour cream with the mixture. So what I did was put the sour cream into a separate, big bowl and poured the mixture in on the side and with a cake spreader, I folded the batter under and over the sour cream repeatedly until I no longer saw the sour cream. I also suggest that you add in the flour mixture a little bit at a time. Yes, it takes more time, but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
A very tasty cake! I made this cake in my Heritage Bundt pan from Williams Sonoma, and I think there was a bit too much batter for my pan, as the cake rose VERY high out of the pan, and the edges got just a bit dark while the center was a tiny bit too moist. Other than that, it came out very well. The cake was moist, tender, and buttery, with a nice lemon taste. The icing was delicious; I liked the rich, slightly tart flavor from the sour cream. It was a tad thick, however...I ended up adding a bit more lemon juice to make it more glaze-like. There was also a bit too much for the cake; I have about 1/2 cup of leftover glaze in my fridge right now. This is a great cake, though, and I'd recommend it to others. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was not particularly good. The cake was way too sweet, not as lemony as I'd have liked and took forever to bake, much longer than the time given. I will not be baking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Came out a little dry, I think next time I will poke holes in the cake and drizzle the glaze in them, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Delicious! And even better on day 2 & 3! Everyone enjoyed it. I was low on sugar, but 2 1/2 cups made the cake perfectly sweet for me. Be aware of how much your bundt pan can hold!! I stopped filling mine at 2/3 full and had enough to bake a medium loaf cake. I didn't think it needed the icing... I dusted the greased pan with granulated sugar, to avoid that ugly flour residue, and it made a lovely crust. It softened the next day, but the cake tasted better, so it's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very good. I used fat free yogurt instead of sour cream. My only problem was that it was a bit doughy even though the cake was on the verge of burning on the bottom. Maybe because of my substitution of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States