Lemon-Lime Soda Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My family loved this. I'm thinking of adding some shredded coconut when I make this again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is similar to the recipe my mom used to make for every holiday dinner. She used cottage cheese to get the lumpiness. The method I prefer is to slowly beat the room temperature cream cheese into the gelatin so that the mixture is creamy not lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Love it! I don't know why other's salads have been runny. I followed ingredient amounts, except I didn't use nuts (allergic) or mayo. However, as another poster stated, use canned pineapple. Fresh pineapple will make gelatin not congeal. To get cream cheese to incorporate into the salad well: Boil soda, add marshmallows till melted. In a mixing bowl, whip cream cheese with mixer until soft and smooth. Then pour in a small amount of lime mixture. Mix. Scrape sides of bowl. Add more lime mixture, mix. Repeat until all is mixed and smooth. This really doesn't take much time. Then mix in pineapple and juice. Then, fold in whipped topping. Chill about an hour. Should be slightly congealed. Stir from bottom to top to get the pineapple that has settled to the bottom. Then pour into the dish you want to serve it in and chill till set. Best to make the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My grandmother made this for as long as I can remember. After she passed & we discovered she never wrote down any of her recipes, I thought I'd never have it again. Thank you allrecipes! This is exactly the way I remembered it. I suppose it should be mentioned in the description that it is SUPPOSED to be softer than a traditional gelatin dish. There are quite a few negative reviews citing that as the source of their dissatisfaction, but as far as I know, that is the intended consistency. Just a friendly suggestion. =) Thanks for sharing this great recipe that brought back the taste of my childhood! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLUCAS16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I think to like this you have to acquire a taste for it.. I made it and my husband LOVES it..and I really dont care for it...I did however take out the vanilla, (did not see the point in it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
By the time the gelatin finally set, the cream cheese had risen to the top and made a layer that was pretty awful tasting. Not a good recipe, and I would never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreia801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I used sugar free strawberry jello and chopped 2 peaches and a handful of strawberries. I added the standard 8 oz pack of cream cheese and 1 cup boiling water and stirred it all together. Then I added 8 oz of cream soda. We'll wait for it to set up and see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
this is so good. I made it on my mother's b-day. But it taste like it is almost going to expire. Someone said, is this expired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEmjc
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
MYSTERY SOLVED!(I think). I simply do not see the purpose of one teaspoon of sugar in this recipe. What difference could it make? I used one tsp. UNFLAVORED GELATIN to improve the set-up. Eureka! This was the perfect firmness and kept its shape in a mold. Flavorwise, this is mildly flavored, not overly sweet or tangy, and has a bit of fizz sensation. The cream cheese does stay slightly chunky (even though I mixed it, with the CRUSHED pineapple, in my Kitchenaid) but is fine. I was extremely skeptical of adding nuts, but feel they added greatly to the flavor and texture. Last tip: BE CERTAIN that the gelatin is COMPLETELY dissolved in the hot water-- you should not hear or see ANY grains or it will not set up. To speed set-up I did put this in my freezer for one hour and then refrigerated another two. It worked perfectly. The End :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I made this for a family function and it lasted about 5 minutes....now my cousins informed me that I have to bring it to every family gathering! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States