Lemon-Lime Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I changed somethings around, instead of lemon extract I used 3/4 the zest of a lemon + 1 tablespoon lemon juice...the cupcakes to me were closer to the consistency of a pouncdcake. For Icing I used store-bought cream cheese icing + 1/4 cup milk + 1/2 cup cool whip + 1/4 zest of a lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
The day that I baked these, they were yummy. Once I refrigerated over night, they were SO DENSE, I really did not care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erz2002
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I think it has a lot of possibilities just by changing the soda flavor and extract. I used raspberry ginger ale and raspberry extract, as that was what I had on hand. I had to bake my cupcakes for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
So these looked pretty good but I wanted to make them lighter, so I added a teaspoon of baking soda and left out an egg. It worked! I was a bit worried, as I've never tried that before, but these ended up as lighter, lemony cupcakes, which is what I was going for. I just frosted with a storebought frosting I wanted to use up, and it worked well. This does make a lot of cupcakes, so bear that in mind. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Summer Oleksy
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was the perfect recipe for my Margarita Cupcakes! I used a cream cheese frosting, unsweetened coconut flakes at the "margarita salt", a gummy lime and real straws cut to the perfect size. I used Roundabout cupcake sleeves as the base ... nice touch! (see pictures) Also we don't drink soda but we do drink Mike's; I replaced the soda with 3/4c Mike's Hard Limeade. The base is a Roundabout sleeve: http://momstart.com/2011/01/roundabouts-the-fun-way-to-have-a-cupcake-giveaway/.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This cake was tasty and unique but it was really dense. The only thing I changed was I made it in a 13x9, but it was a really humid day so that could have made a difference. I put a cool whip frosting on it. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
These are really good. They are moist and very flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
The cupcakes were very good. Made them twice so far. Flavourful. I did not have lemon extract and used 1 tbsp lemon emulco instead, which was just about right. The cake was fine even after sitting in the fridge for a week. It was still soft and tasty. Goes very well with cream cheese frosting. Edit - added 2 tbsps of strawberry flavouring with strawberry soda & 1 tbsp of strawberry jam - got very tasty, pink strawberry cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I made a couple of fun St. Pat's changes. I didn't have lemon-lime soda so I used Jones' Green Apple (which is green) and added a little green food paste. FUN! I also made a cream cheese buttercream for on top and dipped a tiny shamrock cookie cutter in the food coloring and dabbed it on top. FUN AGAIN! My boys loved them. I'll definatly make this again without making changes. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kulp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These are fantastic! I often make poundcake trifles, and now I'll be using this recipe to make the poundcake instead of buying frozen - it's worth the little extra work. For the lemon flavor, I did add the zest of one lemon along with the other ingredients - didn't find it to be too much, since the flavor is subtle. I did manage to get about 2 1/2 dozen cupcakes out of the recipe, and if I'd filled them higher it would have been messy. These are so rich, they don't really need a frosting, but I did make one out of reduced fat cream cheese and powdered sugar (with vanilla extract and a little water) - piped heart shapes on them. My children loved them and luckily I have enough (unfrosted ones) to freeze and serve later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States