Lemon-Lime Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I changed somethings around, instead of lemon extract I used 3/4 the zest of a lemon + 1 tablespoon lemon juice...the cupcakes to me were closer to the consistency of a pouncdcake. For Icing I used store-bought cream cheese icing + 1/4 cup milk + 1/2 cup cool whip + 1/4 zest of a lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
The day that I baked these, they were yummy. Once I refrigerated over night, they were SO DENSE, I really did not care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erz2002
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I think it has a lot of possibilities just by changing the soda flavor and extract. I used raspberry ginger ale and raspberry extract, as that was what I had on hand. I had to bake my cupcakes for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
So these looked pretty good but I wanted to make them lighter, so I added a teaspoon of baking soda and left out an egg. It worked! I was a bit worried, as I've never tried that before, but these ended up as lighter, lemony cupcakes, which is what I was going for. I just frosted with a storebought frosting I wanted to use up, and it worked well. This does make a lot of cupcakes, so bear that in mind. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Summer Oleksy
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was the perfect recipe for my Margarita Cupcakes! I used a cream cheese frosting, unsweetened coconut flakes at the "margarita salt", a gummy lime and real straws cut to the perfect size. I used Roundabout cupcake sleeves as the base ... nice touch! (see pictures) Also we don't drink soda but we do drink Mike's; I replaced the soda with 3/4c Mike's Hard Limeade. The base is a Roundabout sleeve: http://momstart.com/2011/01/roundabouts-the-fun-way-to-have-a-cupcake-giveaway/.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This cake was tasty and unique but it was really dense. The only thing I changed was I made it in a 13x9, but it was a really humid day so that could have made a difference. I put a cool whip frosting on it. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
These are really good. They are moist and very flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
The cupcakes were very good. Made them twice so far. Flavourful. I did not have lemon extract and used 1 tbsp lemon emulco instead, which was just about right. The cake was fine even after sitting in the fridge for a week. It was still soft and tasty. Goes very well with cream cheese frosting. Edit - added 2 tbsps of strawberry flavouring with strawberry soda & 1 tbsp of strawberry jam - got very tasty, pink strawberry cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I made a couple of fun St. Pat's changes. I didn't have lemon-lime soda so I used Jones' Green Apple (which is green) and added a little green food paste. FUN! I also made a cream cheese buttercream for on top and dipped a tiny shamrock cookie cutter in the food coloring and dabbed it on top. FUN AGAIN! My boys loved them. I'll definatly make this again without making changes. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These are fantastic! I often make poundcake trifles, and now I'll be using this recipe to make the poundcake instead of buying frozen - it's worth the little extra work. For the lemon flavor, I did add the zest of one lemon along with the other ingredients - didn't find it to be too much, since the flavor is subtle. I did manage to get about 2 1/2 dozen cupcakes out of the recipe, and if I'd filled them higher it would have been messy. These are so rich, they don't really need a frosting, but I did make one out of reduced fat cream cheese and powdered sugar (with vanilla extract and a little water) - piped heart shapes on them. My children loved them and luckily I have enough (unfrosted ones) to freeze and serve later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States