Lemon-Lime Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mariana
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Great taste, great texture! The only change I made was 2 more tablespoons of lemon extract for a more rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
These were so tasty it was hard to quit eating them! The flavor was nice and lemony and they were sweet rather than tart. It sounded like a lot of lemon extract but didn't taste too lemony or tart. I only had 4 eggs though and had to manage with that. This is a very moist, very delicate, fine cake, and it didn't need any frosting. In fact I had trouble with them after baking as the middles tended to sink and the edges cracked and they were very fragile. The taste was excellent though and the crumb was very fine and delicate and definitely these are worth making! Wedding cake quality texture and flavor but the mini cupcakes were a disaster and the regular sized ones cracked and fell in the middles although the cake was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were so good! I make them all the time now, super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Didn't care for the aftertaste of the lemon extract. Would probably choose to use 2 TBS of lemon juice, instead of lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLINCH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rage
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I followed the recipe as-is (with exception of using a diet lemon-lime soda because that's all I had) and these came out great overall. They were very lemon-tasty. The tops of the cupcakes did go flat throughout the baking process. The tops looked like cookies sitting on top of a cupcake. This didn't bother me at all and what I did was mix some store-bought cream cheese frosting and mixed 2 teaspoons of lemon-extract per each container of frosting and piped the frosting on. I went through two containers of frosting for a little less than 36 cupcakes (a few of the cupcakes went without frosting). The cupcakes are good without the frosting but even better with them. Definite lemony goodness. My husband ate these up like mad! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very happy with this recipe. I wanted the denseness described in previous reviews. I made them in a mini muffin pan and turned them into pettit fours. I replaced the lemon extract and lemon lime soda with the zest and juice of one lemon and one lime. If you needed a bit more moisture you could add a couple spoonsful of 7-up. they really worked out for my purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Meh. Dense. Not too much flavor. Stick in a weird way..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rollmeup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very dense but very tasty, great recipe if you're short on time and don't have any fresh citrus ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by great_girl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I thought it was an amazing, moist, dense cupcake. Tasted like a citrus meringue pie! Some lemon curd to fill and whipped cream flavored with some citrus peel would be divine. I want to try ginger ale with some ginger fresh ginger next time. *Did want to mention, my husband wasn't fond of these, but citrus flavored desserts aren't his thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I love making these cupcakes! Not only is the end result really good, but I like to lick the spoon at the end because the batter is fizzy. I've made these for my class of 28 kids with some cream cheese icing and a gummy worm on top, and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States