Lemon Leek Roasted Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My boyfriend, who is a picky eater, liked this recipe as did I! I stuffed the cavity with the lemon and leeks per the recipe but I also threw in some minced garlic and poultry seasoning. I also used the poulty seasoning on the outside of the and added some olive oil. Halfway through cooking, I milted a teaspoon of butter and gently brushed the top of the cornish hens. I cooked untill the internal temperature reached 180 degrees. The meat was tender and juicy...not to mention elegant. I served with Saffron Rice and Broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
This was a great basic recipe! To suit my owns tastes, I substituted fines herbes for the poultry seasoning, and added a dash of olive oil and some minced garlic. Also, rubbing the birds with the herbs enhances the flavor. And brushing the birds with butter during the roasting results in lovely golden skins. And if you're feeding any vegetarians, usig the marinade to broil portabellas results in a delicious entree my boyfriend raved over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
This was a great recipe! I followed it exactly, and my mother and I both thought that the hens were delicious. Pretty easy, considering that I'm not the most advanced cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These were great, but I did have to add a bit more seasonings to them... In the cavity I salt and peppered and added the poultry seasoning before I put in lemon and leeks. On the outside I rubbed with evoo then the poultry seasonings and sprinkled with garlic powder and dried rosemary... I placed on a bed of lemon and leeks as another reviewer suggested. Even the breast meat was juicy after cooking 1 1/2 hours. The whole family thought they were great and looked elegant!.. ** Picture was taken before I realized they weren't done enough; I baked another 30 minutes and the skin browned nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I used this recipe and the other reviews as a guideline. I made a herb and garlic infused butter (Rosemary, sage, thyme and parsley) and coated the cavity before seasoning with salt, pepper and stuffing with lemon and leeks. I made a layer of sliced lemon and leeks in the bottom of the pan with what I had left over. I sprinkled the poultry seasoning, salt, pepper and the zest of one lemon on the outside of the hens and sprinkled with fresh parsley. I basted more of the butter several times during the cook process, which was more like an hour and a half. The end result was flavorful, moist and fantastic! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Very easy but the lemon and leek flavors were too subtle for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
Thank you so much! This is a delicious and easy recipe. I added more poultry seasoning, so it "coated" both hens. I think the hens I used were on the big side, so I cooked them for almost an hour and a half at 350 F. It was a hit with my partner, and I will cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
My boyfriend is mainly a beef eater - but he keeps asking me to make this recipe! Very tasty! I prepared it exactly the way the recipe called for...but will try some of the other suggestions such as rubbing with herbs and butter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This was perfect for an intimate Christmas dinner! My husband and I had his best friend over and they both devoured the hens. The only thing is that I forgot to get lemons, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very good! First time cooking a cornish hen and it turned out great! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States