Lemon Leek Roasted Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These were great, but I did have to add a bit more seasonings to them... In the cavity I salt and peppered and added the poultry seasoning before I put in lemon and leeks. On the outside I rubbed with evoo then the poultry seasonings and sprinkled with garlic powder and dried rosemary... I placed on a bed of lemon and leeks as another reviewer suggested. Even the breast meat was juicy after cooking 1 1/2 hours. The whole family thought they were great and looked elegant!.. ** Picture was taken before I realized they weren't done enough; I baked another 30 minutes and the skin browned nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Totally enjoyed it. We used a Ginger Rosemary rub after brushing with evoo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This recipe is perfect. I love that it has far less sodium because you arn't using any kind of chicken broth. And I love leeks ! I like to make an almond and wild rice stuffing to go in before baking, then serve it with cooked asparagus and lemon dill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I used this recipe and the other reviews as a guideline. I made a herb and garlic infused butter (Rosemary, sage, thyme and parsley) and coated the cavity before seasoning with salt, pepper and stuffing with lemon and leeks. I made a layer of sliced lemon and leeks in the bottom of the pan with what I had left over. I sprinkled the poultry seasoning, salt, pepper and the zest of one lemon on the outside of the hens and sprinkled with fresh parsley. I basted more of the butter several times during the cook process, which was more like an hour and a half. The end result was flavorful, moist and fantastic! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Just OK. Nothing special. Probably won't make again. Looked elegant though and glad we tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Dr. B
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Yummy and simple!!! The flavors infuse the entire bird. I used several suggestions from other reviewers when making this dish. For example, I mixed herbs in soft butter and rubbed the hens before roasting. I also saved some of that herbed butter to add later--help with keeping the meat moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. B
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My boyfriend, who is a picky eater, liked this recipe as did I! I stuffed the cavity with the lemon and leeks per the recipe but I also threw in some minced garlic and poultry seasoning. I also used the poulty seasoning on the outside of the and added some olive oil. Halfway through cooking, I milted a teaspoon of butter and gently brushed the top of the cornish hens. I cooked untill the internal temperature reached 180 degrees. The meat was tender and juicy...not to mention elegant. I served with Saffron Rice and Broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Very yummy. Next time, I will rub the skins with butter while roasting so the outside won't look so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
My boyfriend is mainly a beef eater - but he keeps asking me to make this recipe! Very tasty! I prepared it exactly the way the recipe called for...but will try some of the other suggestions such as rubbing with herbs and butter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
The was really good. I forgot to by leeks, so I tucked thinly sliced garlic under the skin, and put rosemary in the cavity. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States