Lemon Leek Roasted Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Totally enjoyed it. We used a Ginger Rosemary rub after brushing with evoo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This recipe is perfect. I love that it has far less sodium because you arn't using any kind of chicken broth. And I love leeks ! I like to make an almond and wild rice stuffing to go in before baking, then serve it with cooked asparagus and lemon dill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I used this recipe and the other reviews as a guideline. I made a herb and garlic infused butter (Rosemary, sage, thyme and parsley) and coated the cavity before seasoning with salt, pepper and stuffing with lemon and leeks. I made a layer of sliced lemon and leeks in the bottom of the pan with what I had left over. I sprinkled the poultry seasoning, salt, pepper and the zest of one lemon on the outside of the hens and sprinkled with fresh parsley. I basted more of the butter several times during the cook process, which was more like an hour and a half. The end result was flavorful, moist and fantastic! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Just OK. Nothing special. Probably won't make again. Looked elegant though and glad we tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Dr. B
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Yummy and simple!!! The flavors infuse the entire bird. I used several suggestions from other reviewers when making this dish. For example, I mixed herbs in soft butter and rubbed the hens before roasting. I also saved some of that herbed butter to add later--help with keeping the meat moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. B
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My boyfriend, who is a picky eater, liked this recipe as did I! I stuffed the cavity with the lemon and leeks per the recipe but I also threw in some minced garlic and poultry seasoning. I also used the poulty seasoning on the outside of the and added some olive oil. Halfway through cooking, I milted a teaspoon of butter and gently brushed the top of the cornish hens. I cooked untill the internal temperature reached 180 degrees. The meat was tender and juicy...not to mention elegant. I served with Saffron Rice and Broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Very yummy. Next time, I will rub the skins with butter while roasting so the outside won't look so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
My boyfriend is mainly a beef eater - but he keeps asking me to make this recipe! Very tasty! I prepared it exactly the way the recipe called for...but will try some of the other suggestions such as rubbing with herbs and butter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
The was really good. I forgot to by leeks, so I tucked thinly sliced garlic under the skin, and put rosemary in the cavity. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Very easy but the lemon and leek flavors were too subtle for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States