Lemon Leek Roasted Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I love Cornish Hen!! My husband loves leeks. I was prepared to make risotto to serve with these but ended up with a simple wild rice and seared fresh spinach with garlic!!! Devine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very tasty recipe - I recommend using a healthy dosing of seasoning. One tablespoon wasn't enough so I just sprinkled a bunch on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie McComb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I'm only a beginner cook and this recipe left me uninspired. The flavors were not strong enough and next time I make Cornish Hens I'll pick another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Good flavor. Tasted like chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
The Cornish Hens were $4 each here, so I substituted bone-in chicken breasts. I sauteed the leeks as directed, then stuff them with lemon slices under the skin, dusted with poultry seasoning and salt, then baked. It was very good although the chicken did not pick up much leek/lemon flavor; however, I mixed the cooked leeks in with my couscous and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Was good and i'd make again only problem I had was it didn't have enough flavor for me. Everyone else loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
We loved this, just to be different we also put a bit of celery in the stuffing. It was so good. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Instead of leeks, I stuff mine with rice. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very good! First time cooking a cornish hen and it turned out great! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These were great, but I did have to add a bit more seasonings to them... In the cavity I salt and peppered and added the poultry seasoning before I put in lemon and leeks. On the outside I rubbed with evoo then the poultry seasonings and sprinkled with garlic powder and dried rosemary... I placed on a bed of lemon and leeks as another reviewer suggested. Even the breast meat was juicy after cooking 1 1/2 hours. The whole family thought they were great and looked elegant!.. ** Picture was taken before I realized they weren't done enough; I baked another 30 minutes and the skin browned nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States