Lemon Lavender Avocado Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
The first time I made this bread it was a disaster, because I used truvia baking mix. The second time this bread was amazing! I added a quarter teaspoon of lemon extract, for a bit more lemon zing, and cut the lavender in half, but crushed it before adding to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
So easy and so good! I am not a fan of avocado but I LOVE lavender, so I thought I'd try it and it is phenomenal. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this for a directors meeting for a parish charity. Usually they each take a small serving, eat one or two bites and they're done. Not today! They were practically fighting over the last piece. I followed the recipe very closely. I did cut the sugar to 1 1/3 cup and used just one avocado which was just slightly more than 1 cup so I added 1/2 cup plain yogurt. It still was sweet enough and very moist. The lavender smelled great while baking and just imparted enough flavor so you knew it was there. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I had to know what this tasted like. Husband and I agreed it was 'different' and at first he said it smelled savoury, and I said "I think you're going for 'floral'" and he agreed. Very moist, not 'avocadoey' (though I love avocado so that would have been fine). I added half the called-for lavender based on other comments. All in all, a tasty loaf for any season, and a nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Tastes so good! I loved this bread! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Excellent and different flavor with some healthful ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This cake was so delicious and perfumed! I did not have dried lavender so I used lavender essential oil (just 3 drops) and then added a lemon zest glaze to the finished cakes. They were so delicious that everyone had seconds! We also made the cakes vegan by replacing the eggs with egg replacer, the butter with oil, and the milk with steamed (in the microwave) mashed apple. While the texture may have been slightly more dense in the end, it was still a crowd-pleaser! Seems like no matter how you do it up, this recipe is a spring/summer/early fall winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I've never cooked with lavender but was curious. And I don't care for plain avocado (although I love a good chunky guacamole - go figure), but this recipe intrigued me. I tasted a lavender bud and thought it was quite strong, so I heated the milk and steeped the lavender in the milk overnight, then discarded the buds. This gave the milk a nice light lavender taste and no crunchy buds. I added a cup of chopped pecans for texture, which came out really good. One of my "guinea pigs" loved the bread, and so did I, It came out just a tad tangy and completely delicious. I also made one 9"x 5" and three mini loaves for sharing. Next time I make it I might just go hog wild and leave the buds in. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Attempt #2. I opted to infuse the milk with the lavender buds (let it simmer over low heat for about 10 mins) instead of mixing them into the batter. I also went for lime juice and zest in lieu of lemon this time around, as that flavour compliments avocados rather nicely as well. Not something I would make often despite liking it very much, but a great way to use those avocados that get a little over-ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Excellent, used fresh lavender and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States