Lemon Lavender Avocado Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
So easy and so good! I am not a fan of avocado but I LOVE lavender, so I thought I'd try it and it is phenomenal. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this for a directors meeting for a parish charity. Usually they each take a small serving, eat one or two bites and they're done. Not today! They were practically fighting over the last piece. I followed the recipe very closely. I did cut the sugar to 1 1/3 cup and used just one avocado which was just slightly more than 1 cup so I added 1/2 cup plain yogurt. It still was sweet enough and very moist. The lavender smelled great while baking and just imparted enough flavor so you knew it was there. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I had to know what this tasted like. Husband and I agreed it was 'different' and at first he said it smelled savoury, and I said "I think you're going for 'floral'" and he agreed. Very moist, not 'avocadoey' (though I love avocado so that would have been fine). I added half the called-for lavender based on other comments. All in all, a tasty loaf for any season, and a nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Tastes so good! I loved this bread! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Excellent and different flavor with some healthful ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This cake was so delicious and perfumed! I did not have dried lavender so I used lavender essential oil (just 3 drops) and then added a lemon zest glaze to the finished cakes. They were so delicious that everyone had seconds! We also made the cakes vegan by replacing the eggs with egg replacer, the butter with oil, and the milk with steamed (in the microwave) mashed apple. While the texture may have been slightly more dense in the end, it was still a crowd-pleaser! Seems like no matter how you do it up, this recipe is a spring/summer/early fall winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I've never cooked with lavender but was curious. And I don't care for plain avocado (although I love a good chunky guacamole - go figure), but this recipe intrigued me. I tasted a lavender bud and thought it was quite strong, so I heated the milk and steeped the lavender in the milk overnight, then discarded the buds. This gave the milk a nice light lavender taste and no crunchy buds. I added a cup of chopped pecans for texture, which came out really good. One of my "guinea pigs" loved the bread, and so did I, It came out just a tad tangy and completely delicious. I also made one 9"x 5" and three mini loaves for sharing. Next time I make it I might just go hog wild and leave the buds in. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I took this recipe and really made 'my own' based on the changes I made. Firstly, I halved the recipe. I replaced the butter with sweetened applesauce, rounded the sugar up to 1 cup (probably should've simply used the 3/4 cup minus the 2 TBsps.), generous 1 cup of mashed avocado, guesstimated on the milk (only what I needed to moisten to ease mixing), chia gel for the eggs and 2 tsps. each of ground lavender & dried lemon zest. Kept the baking soda/powder and lemon juice at the same amounts. I baked my loaf for easily 70 minutes (if not a little longer) because my pan was smaller and the change in ingredients. The avocado flavour really disappears in this, and was well-liked by myself and son though my fiance and a friend didn't like it at all. Would make again when needed to use up avocados!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Excellent, used fresh lavender and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Mine was dry with too strong of a lavender flavor for my liking. Think I'll stick to lavender lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States