Lemon Lavender Avocado Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I've never cooked with lavender but was curious. And I don't care for plain avocado (although I love a good chunky guacamole - go figure), but this recipe intrigued me. I tasted a lavender bud and thought it was quite strong, so I heated the milk and steeped the lavender in the milk overnight, then discarded the buds. This gave the milk a nice light lavender taste and no crunchy buds. I added a cup of chopped pecans for texture, which came out really good. One of my "guinea pigs" loved the bread, and so did I, It came out just a tad tangy and completely delicious. I also made one 9"x 5" and three mini loaves for sharing. Next time I make it I might just go hog wild and leave the buds in. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Really good - it's an unusual combination of flavours but they work really well together. Everyone who has tried it loves it! I only used 2 teaspoons of lavender (crushed in a mortar and pestle) rather than 2 tablespoons, and the flavour was great - I'm not sure if I would use much more lavender than that. Maybe crushing the flowers released the flavour a little?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
When I first saw the recipe I thought it was weird but had to try it. Finding the spice lavdnder is not easy but I found it at Central Market in the bulk spice section. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great and really moist. My co workers even liked it. The only thing I would recommend is eating this in the winter with some hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Soooooo good. I used about one tablespoon of fresh lavender, and could hardly taste it. I will get gutsy and increase the amount quite a bit next time! This would also be tasty with a light lemon glaze over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very moist. The lavender can be over-powering at first so the bread taste better chill. Could cut down on sugar a little too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Very interesting. I love cooking with lavendar, and after reading all the other reviews decided to add a little bit more to the bread - it was too much. Lavendar can be overpowering, so try it first with only what the recipe calls for. Otherwise this was a winner and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is the first time I have ever baked with Avocado AND Lavender so I was pleased with the outcome! Just a tip though, I didnt have dried lavender, I only had the fresh stuff right out of my garden. After some research while the bread was in the oven, I discovered fresh lavender is much less potent comparecd to the dry stuff. In conclusion, my bread had a very very faint lavender taste, next time I will dry my stocks or use more fresh stuff! :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaches

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Delicious! The flavors combine nicely! This green bread will be great for Christmas, and the flavors will make a lovely tea bread! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
YUMMMmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Have made this a few times now - friends and coworkers have loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States