Lemon Jelly Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used Splenda instead of sugar. Melted butter separately before I added it. Added 1 tsp lemon extract. Got impatient at about 7 minutes and added 1 tsp cornstarch dissolved in 2 tbsp cold water. That thickened it right up. Put into a clean bowl and placed into an icewater bath to cool. Sort of curdy looking but the taste is ab FAB! Sweet and tart, amazing! Plan to use on sugarless lemon cheesecake (Suzanne Somers recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I got a bit nervous after reading some other reviews so when mine had thickened quite enough after 45 mins, I added about 1 tsp cornstarch mixed with a few drops of water. Cooked another few minutes, then it was perfect! I used it as a filling in a lemon cake and it was soooooo good! Only 4 stars because I had to add cornstarch after 45 mins. Will definately use again and just add the starch after 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This recipe was great. I cant wait to use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was AWESOME!! I'm still waiting for the input of others, but I think it tastes amazing! It did take an hour and a half to thicken up, but when it did, it was really, really yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
im not sure what i did wrong but this recipe never thickened up. i would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I made this to top a lemon meringue pie. It was a little too sweet for me, but Husband really liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This Lemon Jelly Filling turned out perfectly! I used 4 lemons and got a smidge less than 2/3 cup of juice. The filling thickened nicely while cooking and thickened even more while cooling. The flavor was fabulous and I will certainly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I almost ruined this recipe. After placing the pan on the stove I soon realized that it should be cooked in a double boiler! OK. My lemons were large and I ended up with a total of 1 cup of lemon juice. Because of that, it did not thicken up like I thought it should. I wanted it thick so I could spread it on a cake so I added about a 1Tb of cornstarch stirred in with a little hot water to thicken it up. Still it wasn't quite as thick as I thought it should be. However it tasted great, just what I was looking for. This is how I used it. I made a "poke" cake where you pour lemon jello mix over the cake which has had holes poked in it. I then spread this lemon filling over the top of the cake. Then I topped it with Cool Whip. It tasted great, very lemony and tart like we wanted. It would be nice to know how much lemon juice is needed since all lemons are not created equal in size! Once I know what the optimum amount of juice is the recipe will be perfect. 5 star rating for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
YUMMY :) Turned out great and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I AM NOT SURE THIS DESERVES ONE STAR. THIS RECIPE NEVER DID THICKEN UP!!!! WHAT A WASTE OF TIME, MONEY, EFFORT. YOUR 4 LEMONS WERE MAYBE A LOT SMALLER THAN MY LEMONS. YOU REALLY NEED TO USE A CUP AMOUNT NOT JUST JUICE FROM 4 LEMONS. I WOULD NOT TRY THIS AGAIN WITH OUT YOU STATING HOW MUCH JUICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States