Lemon Impossible Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I liked it. I tried what the author suggested and used lime juice. I also decided to double the juice amount which tasted very good. I would suggest that you reduce the amount of liquid by the amount of increased fruit juice. I also decided to take a chance and substituted water for the milk since a scratch lemon or lime cooked pie filling use s water when its cooked. coconut/lime sounded good to me and the flavors were great. The only thing I didn't anticipate was the coconut floating to the top as it baked. But that wasn't a problem just an observation. So now I have the perfect lime or lemon pie filling to take to potlucks. I can't wait to try banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I had made Almond Impossible pie but I thought it was too eggy tasting. Lemon seemed like a good way to minimize the egg taste. I made some changes: I used 2 whole eggs & 4 whites + 2 tsp. melted sweet butter. 1/2 c. Meyer lemon juice and 1/4 c. Lemon juice. I added 2 tsps. Meyer lemon zest. It's good...I served it with raspberry coulis & cool whip since the dinner I made it for had been cancelled & I didn't want to whip the cream for my husband & myself. I think the recipe still needs some tweaking - less coconut perhaps, maybe 1/8 tsp. salt added. I liked that it wasn't super sweet. I think I'll also add 1/2 tsp pure lemon extract next time to amp up the citrus taste. It is quick & a recipe well worth tinkering with to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I was a little hesitant to make this after reading previous reviews but I am so glad I did. I did use a half cup of lemon juice and added the rind, I also used 3 eggs instead of 4. This turned out amazing, we wanted to eat the whole pan! Lemon and coconut are delicious together and this is a really quick, easy and yummy summer dessert. It would also be good with whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
delicious! and so easy. I also added more lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam Nemati
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious! How? Double the lemon juice, add 2 tsp. lemon zest/rind and increase flour to 3/4 cup Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
this is like a really thick lemon coconut pie with no crust! we put whipped topping on it and my kids loved it. Its a nice change from the usual desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYMAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very nice! I went with the authur's banana suggestion and it was quick, easy and really good. I substituted 1/2 cup sliced banana's for the lemon juice and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I served it with sliced bananas and fresh whipped cream. The only thing I would change next time is to reduce the sugar a touch but that's just my taste. Re: the negative reviews, impossible pie doesn't form a flakey crust like a traditional pie. It's more like a combination of cake and custard with a bit of a crunchy edge. Expectations are key with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My family and I thought the pie was excellent, I made it this afternoon and it is already gone! Next time, I will add lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I add lemon zest to recipe and used 1 cup of milk and 2/3 cup of cream. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Followed recipe exactly, it was alright, not the best. My family didn't like the texture so I ended up throwing it away. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States